Milligan’s Segrave to be honored with state award

Joe Avento • Jun 14, 2018 at 5:30 PM

Hannah Segrave’s track & field accomplishments are legendary around Milligan College and the world of NAIA athletics.

On Saturday night, the state of Tennessee will take notice.

Segrave will be recognized as the Tennessee Amateur Female Athlete of the Year during the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame’s induction banquet at the Nashville Omni.

“I was really pleased. I wasn’t expecting this at all,” Segrave said. “It came as a surprise. But I’m really honored and really happy.”

Segrave, a four-time NAIA national champion and eight-time All-American, will be honored along with such well known competitors as the Nashville Predators and Tennessee basketball player Grant Williams.

Once again, she’ll be putting Milligan’s name in the spotlight.

“The people getting awards, it’s a great group, very talented,” Segrave said. “It’s very nice to be recognized along with that type of company.”

Segrave is being recognized after a collegiate career during which she won four national championships in the 800 meters from 2016-17. She won twice outdoors and twice indoors. Her indoor titles came at East Tennessee State University, six miles from the Milligan campus.

“That was special, winning at ETSU,” she said.

Winning a national championship is the culmination of years of hard work and hard coaching. Two titles were nice. Three were incredible. Four? That’s a rare occurrence, but Segrave said she never took winning, especially a national championship, for granted.

“I think it was always a honor to win a national title,” she said. “You can’t be taking that for granted. You just never know. Anything could happen. You could fall or someone can come out of the dark and win unexpectedly. I never took it for granted. I was always very pleased when I won the title.”

The native of Middlesbrough, England, credited Chris Layne, Milligan’s ultra successful coach, for her continued improvement.

“I think he’s very good at analyzing and watching you and helping you develop in a way that’s best for you,” she said. “He was able to develop me. He made sure the training was right for me. He just has a watchful eye, knowing what works and what doesn’t work and making sure I was peaking at the right time.

“He’s very knowledgable and I trusted him with my career and training.”

Just because she’s out of college now doesn’t mean Segrave’s career is over. In fact, now that she can concentrate on running full time, she’s getting faster. She recently ran a personal record of 2 minutes, 2.5 seconds in the 800.

Segrave, who has run a few races this spring, is scheduled to compete in the British Championships next month.

“I’m excited to see what the future holds,” she said.

Other award winners Saturday will be:

— The Amateur Male Athletes of the Year, University of Tennessee’s Grant Williams for being selected SEC Player of the Year and Middle Tennessee State University’s Nick King for being selected as the Conference USA Player of the Year.

— Professional Teams of the Year, Pacific Coast League champions Memphis Redbirds and the Southern League co-champion Chattanooga Lookouts.

— The Amateur Teams of the Year are Rhodes College women’s golf team for claiming its third national championship and Freed-Hardeman’s women’s basketball team for claiming its first national championship.

— The Pat Summitt Lifetime Achievement recipient, James A. Haslam II.

— Male Professional Athlete of the Year, Mike Fisher, Nashville Predators.

— Tennessean of the Year, the Nashville Predators.

Being enshrined into the Hall of Fame will be:

— Joe Allison, University of Memphis kicker and the winner of the inaugural Lou Groza Award in 1992.

— Blaine Bishop, former Tennessee Titan All-Pro safety and current radio host on 104.5 the Zone.

— Allan Houston, University of Tennessee Basketball star and current general manager for the Westchester Knicks.

— Johnnie H. Jones III, University of Tennessee running back.

— Chuck Kriese, winningest coach in ACC tennis history and four time recipient of the National Coach of the Year Award.

— Tim Mack, 2004 Olympic Gold Medalist pole vaulter.

— Raleigh McKenzie, University of Tennessee center and current college scout for the Oakland Raiders.

— Reginald McKenzie, University of Tennessee linebacker and current general manager of the Oakland Raiders.

— Jackie Pope, Middle Tennessee State University multi-sport athlete and All-American football player.

— George Quarles, registered over 200 victories at Maryville High School, and is currently the associate head coach at Furman University.

— Isabelle Daniels Holston, a member of Tennessee State University’s champion relay team and Olympic bronze medalist.

— Glenn McCadams, who served as head football coach of Lipscomb Academy for 31 years, winning three state championships.

Johnson City Press Videos