Segrave named state's female athlete of year

Johnson City Press • Apr 24, 2018 at 7:21 PM

The accomplishments of former Milligan College track/cross country runner Hannah Segrave continue to resonate.

Based on her accomplishments from 2017, Segrave has been named amateur female athlete of the year by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame. The announcement was made Tuesday as the sports hall revealed its remaining honorees for its 52nd annual induction banquet — set for Saturday, June 15 at the Omni Nashville.

Nationally, Segrave emerged a four-time champion and three-time runner-up in NAIA during her career as a Lady Buff. She earned eight All-American awards, was a 13-time national qualifier and a thee-time NAIA runner of the week.

In addition, Segrave broke two Appalachian Athletic Conference Outdoor Championships record, three Milligan cross country marks and eight school track records.

With her college career complete, the Middlesbrough, United Kingdom, native has found success on the international stage. Running for her native country, she was a finalist in the 2017 British World Championship trials and won the bronze medal in the European U-23 event the same year.

In 2016, Segrave qualified for the British Olympic trials.

The University of Tennessee’s Grant Williams, who was named the Southeastern Conference basketball player of the year, and Middle Tennessee State University soccer player Nick King (Conference USA player of the year) were chosen as amateur male athletes of the year.

Professional teams of the year are baseball’s Pacific Coast League champion Memphis Redbirds and Southern League co-champion Chattanooga Lookouts.

After capturing national championships, Rhodes College (women’s golf) and Freed-Hardeman (women’s basketball) were selected as the amateur teams of the year.

Previously announced honorees are James A. Haslam II (Pat Summitt Lifetime Achievement Receipt), Mike Fisher (male professional athlete of the year) and the Nashville Predators (Tennessean of the year).

In conjunction with the honoree class, the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame will be inducting Joe Allison, University of Memphis kicker and the winner of the inaugural Lou Groza Award in 1992; Blaine Bishop, former Tennessee Titans All-Pro safety and current radio host on 104.5 the Zone; Allan Houston, University of Tennessee basketball star and current general manager for the Westchester Knicks; Johnnie H. Jones III, University of Tennessee running back; and Chuck Kriese, winningest coach in Atlantic Coast Conference tennis history and four-time recipient of the national coach of the year award.

The list continues with Tim Mack, 2004 Olympic gold medalist pole vaulter; Raleigh McKenzie, University of Tennessee football center and current college scout for the Oakland Raiders; Reginald McKenzie, University of Tennessee linebacker and current Raiders general manager; Jackie Pope, MTSU multi-sport athlete and All-American football player; George Quarles, who registered over 200 victories at Maryville High School and is currently the associate head coach at Furman University.

This class also includes the posthumous inductions of Tigerbelle Isabelle Daniels Holston, a member of Tennessee State University’s AAU champion relay team for five years and Olympic bronze medalist; and Glenn McCadams, who served as head football coach of Lipscomb Academy for 31 years, winning three state championships.

Johnson City Press Videos