Lady Cyclones' Brickey repeats Sweet 16 honor

Douglas Fritz • May 29, 2018 at 7:05 PM

For the second straight season, Elizabethton’s Lauren Brickey was at the head of the softball class.

The Lady Cyclones’ senior once again put up massive numbers and was chosen Tuesday as the Johnson City Press/Kingsport Times-News Sweet 16 softball player of the year.

At the plate, Brickey batted .437 with 11 homers and 53 RBIs. She also collected eight doubles.

In the circle, Brickey was an impressive 18-5 with an ERA of 3.10. She helped her team win Three Rivers Conference and District 1-AA championships and reach the sectional round before losing to perennial state power Corryton Gibbs.

Here is the 2018 version of the annual team, followed by honors for soccer, tennis and track:

Sweet Sixteen

Player of the Year

Lauren Brickey, Elizabethton

Coach of the Year

Kenneth Chambers, Unaka

Pitcher of the Year

Kara Weems, David Crockett


Pitching staff

Kara Weems, David Crockett, Jr.

(27-6, 1.51 ERA, 235 K in 199 innings)

Lauren Brickey, Elizabethton, Sr.

(18-5, 3.10 ERA, 134 K in 132 innings)

Corie Schuettler, Unaka, Sr.

(30-14, 1.99 ERA, 325 K in 280 innings)

Halie Padgett, Unicoi County, Sr.

(22-7, 3.10 ERA)


Honorary batting order

1. Rylee Stiltner, Unicoi County, Sr.

(.443, 4 HR, 35 RBIs, 15 2B)

2. Chelsea Sams, Sullivan East, Jr.

(.483, 9 HR, 39 RBIs, 15 2B, 48 runs)

3. Lauren Brickey, Elizabethton, Sr.

(.437, 11 HR, 53 RBIs, 8 2B)

4. Maci West, Elizabethton, Sr.

(.509, 9 HR, 47 RBIs, 11 2B)

5. Sydney Miller, Unicoi County, Sr.

(.418, 11 HR, 55 RBIs, 17 2B)

6. Mia Edwardson, Science Hill, Sr.

(.402, 15 HR, 45 RBIs, 42 runs, 8 2B)

7. Reagan Miller, David Crockett, Sr.

(.444, 6 HR, 48 RBIs)

8. Sydney Fox, David Crockett, Sr.

(.455, 7 HR, 38 RBIs)

9. Kasey Bennett, Science Hill, Jr.

(.402, 9 HR, 36 RBIs, 10 2B)

10. Megan Ackerman, Daniel Boone, Jr.

(.360, 6 HR, 34 RBIs; 12-6 as a pitcher)


Macie Herrmann, Elizabethton, Sr.

(.358, 20 SB, 17 HBP)

McCoy Hensley, Dobyns-Bennett, Sr.

(.380, 18 SB)

Nickolette Ferguson, Daniel Boone, So.

(.386, 32 RBIs, 14-6 as a pitcher)




Player of the Year

Eli Click, Dobyns-Bennett, Sr.

Striker of the Year

Aidan Moore, Tennessee High, Sr.

Midfielder of the Year

Jack Perry, Dobyns-Bennett, So.

Defender of the Year

Phillip Burdge, Dobyns-Bennett, Sr.

Coach of the Year

Blake Rutherford, Dobyns-Bennett



Boys Player of the Year

Stone Cozart, Tennessee High, Sr.

Girls Player of the Year

Willa Rogers, Dobyns-Bennett

Coach of the Year

Kelly Lane, Science Hill



Boys Athlete of the Year

T.J. Patton, Science Hill

Girls Athlete of the Year

Sasha Neglia, Dobyns-Bennett

Boys Best Field Events

Aidan Costello, University High

Girls Best Field Events

Madison Cowan, Sullivan South

Coach of the Year

Bob Bingham, Dobyns-Bennett

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos