Candidates qualify for congressional primary

Robert Houk • Apr 2, 2020 at 8:11 PM

At least 14 Republicans and two Democrats met Thursday’s noon deadline to qualify as candidates for Tennessee’s 1st District seat in the U.S.House of Representatives on the Aug. 6 congressional primary ballot.

Among them are three sitting state legislators, two former area mayors and one current member of the Washington County Board of Education.

The list of Republicans who qualified to succeed retiring U.S. Rep. Phil Roe include state Sen. Rusty Crowe, R-Johnson City; state Rep. Timothy Hill, R-Bluff City; and state Rep. David Hawk, R-Greeneville. Also qualifying are former Johnson City Mayor Steve Darden, former Kingsport Mayor John Clark and county Board of Education member Chad Fleenor.

In races for the Tennessee General Assembly, state Rep. Micah Van Huss R-Jonesborough, will face Tim Hicks, owner of a Gray-based construction company, for the Republican nomination in the 6th District. Brad Batt of Johnson City has filed as a Democratic candidate.

In the 7th state House District, incumbent Matthew Hill, R-Jonesborough, is being challenged in the GOP primary by Rebecca Keefauver Alexander of Jonesborough.

Tennessee will see also see a race in November for the U.S. Senate seat now held by a Republican, Lamar Alexander, who is retiring. There are at least 14 Republicans who have qualified for the Aug. 6 primary, including Bill Hagerty, President Donald Trump’s former ambassador to Japan, and Nashville surgeon Manny Sethi.

There are five Democratic candidates for U.S. Senate, including Nashville attorney James Mackler and Marquita Bradshaw of Memphis. 

The Republican race to succeed Roe in Congress includes a large field of candidates from throughout the 1st District, which covers all of Carter, Cocke, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington counties and parts of Jefferson and Sevier counties.

Others on the ballot are Jay Adkins, Elizabethton; Richard Barker, Johnson City; Chance Cansler, Morristown; Josh Gapp, Knoxville; Diana Harshbarger, Kingsport; Chuck Miller, Afton; Carter M. Quillen, Elizabethton; and Nichole Williams, Kingsport.

Certification for petitions from Phil Arlinghaus, Seymour, and Robert D. Franklin, Elizabethton, were still pending.

Chris Rowe, Elizabethton, and Blair Walsingham, Edison, have qualified as candidates in the Democratic Primary. A petition from independent candidate Steve Holder, Johnson City, was still pending Thursday.

Candidates for state and federal offices have until noon on April 9 to withdraw from their respective races. Winners of the Aug. 6 primaries will join independent candidates on the Nov. 3 general election ballot.

The site administrator has disabled comments for this story.
Johnson City Press Videos