Incumbent wins GOP race for assessor of property

Robert Houk • Updated Mar 3, 2020 at 10:48 PM

Incumbent Scott Buckingham defeated former state Rep. Dale Ford, R-Jonesborough, by 138 votes in Tuesday’s Washington County Republican Primary for assessor of property.

“I want to thank the voters for putting their faith and trust in me,” Buckingham said. “I’m excited for the win, and pleased that we ran a clean campaign.”

Unofficial results show Buckingham winning the race with 50.62% of the vote. Buckingham received 5,144 votes, while 5,006 were cast for Ford. 

The incumbent will face no opponent on the Aug. 6 ballot.

Buckingham, who has been a building contractor since 1991, has served as assessor of property since August 2009. That’s when he was appointed by the County Commission to fill an unexpired term created by his predecessor’s sudden retirement.

He has been returned to the office three times, last winning re-election in August 2016 by defeating independent candidate Stanley Duane Shell with 64% of the vote.

Buckingham grew up in Gray Station, and graduated from Daniel Boone High School in 1978. He is a 1983 graduate of East Tennessee State University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

He married Lana Odom in 1988, and they have two sons, Chase and Ethan.

“I spent 25 years as a contractor and a developer in Washington County prior to becoming assessor of property,” Buckingham told the Press last month. “That really helps with understanding the values on properties.”

Buckingham previously served eight years as a member of the Washington County Commission, where he represented the Gray and Sulphur Springs communities.

Ford is a former Major League Baseball umpire who represented the 6th District in the state House of Representatives from 2007 until he was unseated by state Rep. Micah Van Huss, R-Jonesborough, in the 2012 GOP Primary.

He lost the Republican race for Washington County trustee by 81 votes to Rick Storey in 2018.

The Republican Primary ballot in Washington County also included uncontested races for constable in three districts. John E. Phillips received 2,097 votes in the 1st District, Rick “Gilley” Gillenwater received 3,356 votes in the 2nd District and John M. Daniel received 2,476 votes in the 3rd District .

Washington County’s Aug. 6 ballot will include the general election for assessor of property, constables and the District 2 seat on the county’s Board of Education.

Johnson City Press Videos