Mayor, sheriff go down to defeat in Johnson elections

John Thompson • Aug 4, 2018 at 12:13 AM

MOUNTAIN CITY — The voters of Johnson County elected a new mayor and sheriff on Thursday night.

The voters narrowly chose Mike Taylor over incumbent Mayor Larry Potter, but Eddie Tester was the overwhelming choice for sheriff, beating incumbent Mike Reece by a vote of 4,052 to 727, gathering in 77 percent of the vote.

Johnny Roberts was the third candidate in the sheriff’s race with 480 votes.

The mayor’s race was much closer, with Taylor receiving 2,549 votes, for 51.17 percent to Potter’s 2,527 votes, for 48.81 percent. In another fairly tight countywide race, Frida May Gwinn was returned to the office of register of deeds with just over half the votes in a three-candidate field. Gwinn had 2,597 votes, Pamela S. Brown had 2,025 votes and Jeffery D. Rupard had 438 votes.

The voters did not choose a complete change of county government however, granting substantial victories to the other incumbent officeholders. County Clerk Tammie C. Fenner was unopposed in her bid for another term and she received 4,301 votes.

Melissa Holloway won another term as Circuit Court Clerk, getting 73.4 percent of the votes. Holloway had 3,644 votes to 1,323 votes for Katherine Mink.

Road Superintendent Darrell Reece was returned for another term with 62.7 percent of the vote; he totaled 3,173 votes to 1,884 votes for James Kenneth Moody.

County Trustee Lisa Crowder was returned to office with 72.2 percent of the vote. She had 3,644 votes to 1,401 votes for Michael Trivette.

In the County Commission races, Bill Adams, Eugene Campbell and Joey Norris were elected from a five-candidate field in the 1st District. Adams had 795 votes, Campbell had 590 votes and Norris had 433 votes. Finishing just out of third place was Timothy Paul Dugger with 415 votes. Robert L. Swift had 210 votes.

In the 2nd District, Scott Mast was returned with 193 votes to 183 votes for Lester Dunn.

In the 3rd District, Freddy Phipps, Bema Arnold and Jerry Grindstaff took the three seats in a six-candidate field. Phipps had 566 votes, Arnold had 448, and Grindstaff had 362 votes. Billy D. Roark finished just outside with 333 votes. Gregory R. Reece had 312 votes and Christopher Pierce had 307 votes.

In the 4th District, Tommy R. Poore and Rick Snyder were each re-elected, but their finishes were separated by just one vote: Poore had 383 and Snyder had 382. Also running in the district were Terry Brown, with 265 votes, and Leon Odom had 131 votes.

The three candidates elected from the 5th District were: Megan McEwen with 446 votes, Jerry Gentry with 440 votes and Jimmy Lowe with 401 votes. Steve Marshall did not win a seat although he was close with 383 votes.

In the 6th District, Huey Long narrowly lost his bid to return to the commission, being defeated by David McQueen 207 to 201.

In the 7th District, Evelyn Hill and Gina Meade were returned. They were the only candidates in the two-seat contest. Meade won bragging rights with 348 votes to 346 votes for Hill.

In the School Board races, Howard Carlton took the 1st District seat with 559 votes to 514 votes for Russell Robinson.

The two members elected from the 2nd District were Gary Matheson with 1,057 votes and Kevin Long with 853. Kenneth Gregg was just short of qualifying, receiving 849 votes.

In the constable races, James E. Brown was unopposed in the 1st District and received 916 votes. In the 2nd District, Norman Miller and Key Kernaghan won the two posts in a five-candidate race. Miller had 1,290 votes and Kernaghan had 553. The other candidates were Keith Estevens with 480 votes, Lee Farley with 354 votes and Ben Price with 267 votes.

In the 3rd Constable District, Dave Quave and Ray Lunceford were elected to the two positions. Quave had 884 votes to 880 votes for Ray Lunceford. David Price finished third with 569 votes.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos