Holsclaw wins area's only contested primary for state Legislature

Nathan Baker • Updated Aug 2, 2018 at 11:03 PM

Incumbent John Holsclaw defeated his opponent Thursday night in the region’s only contested primary race for a state legislative seat.

In the 4th House District, the Republican received nearly 70 percent of the primary votes from residents in Carter and Unicoi counties. His challenger, Tim Lingerfelt, took 600 more votes in his home county of Unicoi, but Holsclaw’s 4,500-vote lead in Carter was too much for him to overcome.

With no qualified candidate put forward by Democrats, Holsclaw is nearly assured an easy win in November.

In other state legislative races:

• Unopposed Republican John Crawford secured his party’s nomination in Sullivan County’s 1st House District with 6,244 votes. He will not face a Democrat in November. Four years ago, when the state last chose a governor, Rep. Jon Lundberg also ran unopposed, receiving 4,380 votes.

• Also in Sullivan County, Republican Bud Hulsey won with 8,476 votes in his unopposed primary race in the 2nd House District. He will face Democrat Arvil Love Jr. in November. Love won his primary with 1,395 votes. In 2014, 8,437 votes were cast in the Republican primary, with Hulsey’s 5,046 giving him the win.

• Timothy Hill, running unopposed, won the Republican nomination for the 3rd House District seat with 10,532 votes. His district is comprised of parts of Carter, Johnson and Sullivan counties. In 2014, Timothy Hill beat Kevin Dwayne Parsons in the Republican primary 8,069 to 1,984. No Democrat qualified for the primary in District 3.

• Incumbent Rep. Micah Van Huss originally faced a challenger in his Republican primary race for the 6th House District seat, but former Johnson City mayor Steve Darden pulled out of the race in June, too late for his name to be removed from the ballot. Van Huss will be the party’s nominee, taking 4,861 votes, but Darden, despite dropping out, received 2,678, more than 35 percent. Four years ago, Van Huss received 4,443 votes in a race against Clayton Stout. No qualified candidate was fielded by Democrats in the primary for the legislative seat.

• Matthew Hill won his unopposed primary with 5,668 votes for the Republican nomination for the state’s 7th House District seat in part of Washington County. He will face Democrat Nathan Farnor in November. Farnor, running unopposed in his primary, took 1,364 votes. In 2014, Matthew Hill, in a three-way primary race with Phil Carriger and Todd M. Franklin, received 3,966 votes. 7,445 votes were cast in total in that race.

• Longtime state Sen. Rusty Crowe will likely again return to Nashville to represent the 3rd Senate District, comprised of all of Washington and Unicoi counties and part of Carter. Crowe took 22,478 votes in the Republican primary, in which he faced no opponent. In 2014, Crowe received 23,205 votes in his unopposed primary. No qualified Democrat will be on the ballot for District 3 in November.

Johnson City Press Videos