Barnett defeats Humphrey to take Republican nomination for mayor in Carter County

John Thompson • Updated May 2, 2018 at 12:11 AM

ELIZABETHTON — Rusty Barnett was the big winner in the Carter County Republican Primary on Tuesday.

In unofficial results, Barnett defeated two-term mayor Leon Humphrey with a vote of 3,679 votes to 2,955 votes. Danny Ward finished third with 2,236 votes. Larry Shell was fourth with 615 votes.

Barnett captured 38.76 percent of the vote in the four-man contest. Humphrey had 21.13 percent in his bid for a third term. Barnett does not face an opponent in the August general election.

Barnett currently serves as chairman of the Carter County School Board and is the Deputy Chief of the Elizabethton Fire Department. He has worked as a firefighter for 37 years, and he plans to step down from the fire department in August, after the general election.

He said if he wins the general election, he will become county mayor on the first of September. He said he plans to hold a meet and greet with all the old and new county commissioners and other office holders as his first action as mayor.

“I think we need to get to know each other and we need to get on the same page and pulling together to bring in jobs and improve our schools,” Barnett said.

It has been a good week for his family. His stepson, Jason Witten, has been offered the color commentator position for ESPN “Monday Night Football.” Barnett said Witten should be making an announcement on his future in a couple of days.

In other results, Dexter Lunceford won the Republican nomination for a second tern as sheriff. He had 5,209 votes to challenger Rocky Croy’s 4,173 votes.

In the race to succeed Jody Bristol as register of deeds, Jarrod Ellis won the Republican nomination with 4,560 votes to 3,208 votes for Jessica Barnett Markland. Adam Townsend was third with 1,571 votes.

Incumbent Mary Gouge got the nomination for another term as county clerk. She had 5,917 votes to 1,773 votes for Patsy Lewis and 1,738 votes for Bruce Pierce.

In the county commission races, Willie Campbelll led the way in the 1st District with 848 votes. Also getting nominated were Robert Acuff with 799 and Mark Blevins with 753. Steve Senstream finished last with 603 votes.

The front runner in the 2nd District was Patty Woody with 723 votes. Nancy Brown with 637 votes and Mark Hill with 535 votes won the other two nominations. Failing to get a nomination were Derrick Guinn and Al Meehan.

The three nominees from the 3rd District are Ronnie Trivett, 698 votes; Brad Jonson, 662 votes; and Phillip Brumit with 613 votes. There were no other candidates.

Jerry Proffitt led the way in the 4th District with 851 votes. The other nominations went to Isaiah Grindstaff with 686 and Austin Jaynes with 564. Michael Roberts finished last with 469 votes.

The nominees in the 5th District are Ross Garland, 488 votes; Ginger Holdren, 423 votes; and Layla Ward, 340 votes. There were no other candidates.

The top vote getter in the 6th District was Randall Jenkins with 659 votes. Travis Hill with 618 votes and Gary Bailey with 599 votes also won nominations. Finishing last was Donnie Cable with 545 votes.

Aaron Frazier was the only candidate in the 7th District with 837 votes.

Rick Richardson led the way in the 8th District with 613 votes. Robin McKamey with 530 and Cody McQueen with 447 also won nominations. Myles Cook finished last with 296 votes.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos