no avatar

August primary candidates: Former Johnson City mayor challenging Van Huss

Zach Vance and Robert Houk • Apr 5, 2018 at 11:12 PM

Former Johnson City Mayor Steve Darden will face incumbent state Rep. Micah Van Huss, R-Jonesborough, for the 6th District seat in the Tennessee House of Representatives.

Darden, now the managing partner of a law firm, served 10 years on the City Commission, from 2001 to 2011. His last two years on the commission was to fill the unexpired term of Phil Roe, who was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 2008.

“Tennessee does not end in Knoxville, yet sometimes it seems that we continue to be treated by some in the state capital as if it did,” Darden said. “We need a representative who has what it takes to get things done on the state level. My business background, my law practice and my record of success in the real world and in local leadership show that I can be such a representative.”

Van Huss was first elected to the 6th House District seat in 2012, and is seeking re-election to a fourth term in Nashville. The winner of the Aug. 2 Republican Primary will face Democratic candidate Justin R. Leslie and Murphey Johnson, an independent candidate, in the Nov. 6 general election.

In the 7th House District race, incumbent Matthew Hill is running unopposed in the Republican primary. East Tennessee State University senior and Roan Scholar Nathan Farnor is the sole Democratic challenger for Hill’s seat.

Four candidates, including two incumbents, filed petitions to run for three District 1 openings on the Washington County Board of Education. The District 3 race, also with three seats up for grabs, has one incumbent and four newcomers, including current Washington County Commissioner and Finance Director Mitch Meredith.

With the unexpected death of First Judicial District Attorney General Tony Clark on March 25, the qualifying deadline for election of a new District Attorney to fill the four remaining four years of Clark's unexpired eight-year was also set for Thursday.

Ken Baldwin, who was sworn in as Attorney General Pro Tem on Tuesday, was the only candidate to qualify and will run opposed in the August general election in Washington, Carter, Unicoi and Johnson counties.

Candidates running on the August ballot have until April 12 to withdraw.

1st Judicial District Attorney General

•  Kenneth C Baldwin, Independent

Juvenile Judge/Johnson City

•  Sharon M. Green, Independent

County School Board District 1

•  Kerrie Aistrop Independent

•  Annette Buchanan, Independent

•  Jason Day, Independent

•  Keith R Ervin, Independent

County School Board District 3

•  Donald Feathers, Independent

•  Chad Fleenor, Independent

•  David Hammond, Independent

•  Trevor L. Knight, Independent

•  Mitch Meredith, Independent

Democratic State Executive Committeewoman

•  Debbie McClaskey, Democrat

Democratic State Executive Committeeman

•  No candidates qualified

Republican State Executive Committeewoman

•  Sharon Fletcher Boreing, Republican

•  Anita Hodges Taylor, Republican

•  Betty J Ziesel, Republican

Republican State Executive Committeeman

•  Todd Fowler, Republican

TN State Senator (state)

•  Rusty Crowe, Republican

TN U.S. Representative 1st District

•  Phil Roe, Republican

•  George Brimer (Cocke County), Republican

•  James Brooks, Republican

•  Todd McKinley, Republican

•  Marty Olsen, Democrat

TN State Representative 6th District

•  Steve Darden, Republican

•  Micah Van Huss, Republican

•  Justin R. Leslie, Democrat

•  Murphey Johnson, Independent

TN State Representative 7th District

•  Matthew Hill, Republican

•  Nathan Farnor, Democrat

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos