Alvey edges Byrd for Volunteer victory

Jeff Birchfield • Jul 2, 2019 at 2:31 PM

Tim Byrd got caught in a traffic jam Saturday night and it cost him a first win of the season at Volunteer Speedway.

The three-time track champion from Jonesborough was leading on the final lap of the Crate Late Model feature when he got held up by a slower car on the backstretch. It allowed Heath Alvey to get inside of him and the two drivers raced off turn four bidding for the win.

In a side-by-side race to the finish, Alvey ended up winning by one foot over Byrd. It was the Dandridge driver’s first win of the year at the 4/10-mile dirt track.

Byrd, who had struggled the previous couple of races, had his blue No. 24 machine working well Saturday night. Starting on the front row, he powered to the early lead and stayed there until the end.

It was Alvey, however, who ultimately took home the $1,500 prize for winning the race. Trevor Sise of Knoxville, Shannon Emery and Adam Ahl of Jefferson City rounded out the top five in a 22-car field.

There was an even bigger field of Sportsman Late Models, 28 cars strong before it was whittled down to 24 cars for the A-Main. Travis Fultz of Harrogate grabbed the lead at the start and rolled to the win. Adam Mitchell, Rex Coffey, Mitchell Burke and Jason Sizemore rounded out the top five.

David Clark of Tazewell led flag-to-flag to win the Modified Street feature. Wayne Rader, Shannon Emery, Kaleb Trent and Kurt Owens were the rest of the top five.

Eli Keck of Corryton held off John Stevens for the Classic win. Josh Henry of Newport charged from the back of the field to win in Street Stock. Tony Trent finished in the runner-up spot after second-place Josh Driskill had a flat tire on the final lap. Derik Duggan of Lenoir City led all 20 laps to capture the Mini Stock feature with Tommy Newton placing second.

With more than 100 entries for the six divisions, it was another great night for new track owner Landon Stallard. Stallard has been active on social media, thanking fans and participants as well as addressing their concerns. His efforts and the work at the speedway have paid dividends with rave competitors and fans alike.

A big crowd is expected for this Saturday night’s “Firecracker 135.” The first 40 fans will be admitted free and there will be a fireworks show after another six-division program of races.


There continues to be good support at Kingsport Speedway. The car count in the featured Late Model Stock division has been up for the last couple of races, and big fields for the Pure 4 division at the 3/8-mile concrete oval.

It’s “Fan Appreciation Night” on Friday, with twin 35-lap Late Model Stock races headlining the program. Ronnie McCarty of Kingsport has been on a recent hot streak, winning the last two Late Model features. Racing in the Mod Street, Mod 4, Pure 4 and Pure Street divisions are also on tap.


The DER Bracket Series at Bristol Dragway was blessed with a huge count of 300-plus cars, although rain played havoc with the Sunday schedule.

It couldn’t dampen the spirits of the Brown family from Blountville. Carson Brown won the Super Pro division race and his younger brother, Tucker, won in Junior Dragster, Division 3. It was the first time the two won races on the same day.

Six-time track champion Jerry Turner from Bluff City continued to lead the two-wheel ranks with his Motorcycle victory. Other winners included Randy Biddle (Pro), Ed Cannon (Sportsman), Mark Bowery (Trophy), Braydon McCown (Junior Dragster, Division 1) and Baylee Griffith (Division 2).

Bristol Dragway hosts the BTE World Footbrake Challenge on Thursday through Sunday. Thursday features a test-and-tune, followed by a $3,000-to-win Gambler’s Race.

The winner on each of the next three days races will win $10,000. In the footbrake competition, racers are not allowed to use electronic equipment to help them achieve a perfect start.


Kingsport rider Carson Eads piled up more wins at the latest Hot Summer Nights Supercross Series race at I-81 Motorsports Park.

Eads outran Andrew Carver of Jonesborough to win the Schoolboy division. Eads also won in Super Mini and scored a runner-up finish in another class.

Alex Colley of Norton, Va., won three races, holding off Kingsport’s Jackson Horne in 85cc, 9-11. Horne had two runner-up finishes.

In the youngest division, Lane Milhorn of Watauga won the 51cc (4-6 class) over Jackson Statzer of Elizabethton. Jonesborough’s Jake Hillman also had a runner-up finish in the 51cc Open. Seth Fields and Laken Fields of Church Hill were 1-2 in the 65cc, 7-9 race.

Bo Hughes of Roan Mountain finished second in the Pro race. Other runner-up finishes included: Justin Carberry of Jonesborough (250 D), Nick Hammons of Elizabethton (450 D), Bailey Hughes of Hampton (Unlimited B), Braeden Fletcher of Kingsport (125 cc, 2-stroke), Justin Keith of Blountville (30+) and Johnson City’s Alton Clark (ATV Novice).

The Hot Summer Nights Series is scheduled to return to I-81 Motorsports Park on Saturday.

Johnson City Press Videos