Byrd wins second straight at Volunteer

Jeff Birchfield • Aug 7, 2018 at 6:17 PM

Tim Byrd is flying high once again at Volunteer Speedway.

The three-time track champion won his second straight Crate Late Model feature at the 4/10-mile dirt track on Saturday night, holding off former teammate Jensen Ford for the win. The pair of Jonesborough racers have won three straight combined as Ford won the race prior to Byrd's back-to-back victories.

Byrd and Ford were certainly the class of the field on Saturday after Byrd set fast time in qualifying at 13.198 seconds. They battled for the lead on the first lap before Byrd pulled ahead. They proceeded to pull away from the rest of the field.

Ford challenged for the lead on several occasions, but Byrd was able to hold him off for the victory. Behind them Rusty Ballenger, Trevor Sise and Gary Crittenden rounded out the top five.

Johnson City driver Tim Maupin battled with the second pack of drivers ultimately winding up ninth. Another Johnson City driver, Jackie Hughes, finished 12th.

Zach Sise of Knoxville dominated action in the Sportsman Late Model division. He was the fastest in practice and qualifying, and led flag-to-flag in a 20-lap feature for his third win over the season.

Bradley Lewelling and Jake Whitehead ran second and third in the race. Five-time track champion Dale Ball of Johnson City qualified on the outside pole and finished fourth.

In the best race of the night, Shon Flanary of Surgoinsville edged Don Adams in a near photo finish for his second Open Wheel Modified victory.

Chris Rickett of Morristown recorded his second Modified Street win of the season.

Tony Trent of Bean Station was a first-time winner in the Classic division, and Josh Henry of Newport scored the 602 Street division win.

The next night of racing at Volunteer Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 25.


Longtime Hawkins County resident Scott Bloomquist captured his 600th career win back on July 15 at the CMH Diamond Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway in Missouri.

It was his sixth Lucas Oil Series win of the season and the Mooresburg driver's all-time series leading 92nd victory. He passed another East Tennessee racing legend, Jimmy Owens of Newport, on lap 32 of the 50-lap A-Main.

Mason Zeigler came up to second, but wasn't able to successfully challenge Bloomquist, while Owens faded to finish fifth.

Bloomquist scored career win No. 601 just four days later. He won a $10,000-to-win event at Brown County Speedway in South Dakota. He held off 2015 Lucas Oil champion Jonathan Davenport to win on the 4/10-mile dirt oval.


Carson Eads doubled up with wins in both Super Mini and 85cc 9-13 divisions at last Saturday's Hot Summer Nights Supercross Series race in Forest City, N.C. The young Kingsport rider won both motos for the 85cc, 9-13 division.

Riders from the Carolinas dominated the event, although runner-up finishes were posted by Justin Carberry of Jonesborough (85D Beginner), Mason Price of Kingsport (51cc Multi-Speed) and Alex Colley of Norton, Va. (65cc, 7-9).

Racing will be back on the Tri-Cities riders' home turf this Saturday at I-81 Motorsports Park.


Kingsport Speedway is hosting its Back-to-School night this Friday with kids' race car rides and a powerwheels race for the kids.

Track championship battles in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series are coming down to the wire with Zeke Shell of Johnson City leading defending track champion Kres VanDyke of Abingdon, Va., by eight points in the featured Late Model Stock division.

Jonesborough driver Robbie Ferguson is third in the Late Model points, while Nik Williams of Chuckey is mounting a late charge. Williams swept twin 35-lap features last Friday night to make it five straight wins on the 3/8-mile concrete oval.

The Discovery Channel's Street Outlaws make their return to Bristol Dragway on Tuesday, Aug. 21. The show's stars — Farm Truck, AZN and Big Chief — are all scheduled to be there.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos