no avatar

Today: ETSU to dedicate fountain in honor of first students in desegregation

Staff Report • Mar 25, 2013 at 6:58 AM

East Tennessee State University will be unveiling a new historical marker and memorial fountain that honors five students who desegregated the college.

The official dedication of the marker will be held today at noon in front of Sherrod Library.

The marker lists the names of Elizabeth Watkins Crawford, George L. Nichols, Mary Luellen Owens Wagner, Eugene Caruthers and Clarence McKinney who were the first black students at East Tennessee State College, which is now ETSU.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos