logo


no avatar

Today in Johnson City History: October 18

Rebecca Henderson and Johnson City Press • Oct 18, 2019 at 4:00 AM

Oct. 18, 1884: The East Tennessee, Virginia and Georgia Railroad had forbidden passengers from riding on local freights.

Oct. 18, 1894: Jim Whitlow Jr. had abandoned his barroom clerkship in Johnson City to attend Milligan College. “Better late than never, Jim,” The Comet advised.

Oct. 18, 1932: The Tennessee Press and Authors Club State Convention concluded its three-day meeting at the John Sevier Hotel.

Oct. 18, 1954: The St. Mary’s Catholic School building was dedicated on a hill above downtown Johnson City. The building now houses Girls Inc.

Oct. 18, 1974: The J. Geils Band and R.E.O. Speedwagon performed for more than 5,200 fans at Freedom Hall Civic Center.

Oct. 18, 2006: A mama dog and her puppies were recovering at the Washington County/Johnson City Animal Shelter after being discovered on the side of Interstate 26 earlier that week. Truck drivers hauling rock from a quarry pulled over when they spotted the adult dog with duct tape wrapped around her mouth. After safely removing the tape from the dog’s mouth, the truckers discovered her seven puppies nestled in a nearby area of tall grass.

Sources: The Comet; Archives of Appalachia, Mary Hardin McCown Collection; “In the Footsteps of Faith: A Tour of 14 of Johnson City’s Century-Old Churches”; Bobbie H. Shirley, Freedom Hall; Johnson City Press.

Johnson City Press Videos