Johnson City Press: Tennessee Department of Health to provide free flu shots across Northeast Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Health to provide free flu shots across Northeast Tennessee

Brandon Paykamian • Updated Nov 28, 2018 at 3:41 PM

Local health departments throughout Northeast Tennessee are offering free flu vaccinations on Dec. 5 as part of the Tennessee Department of Health’s “FightFluTN” campaign.

After an estimated 80,000 Americans died from influenza and its complications in the 2017-18 flu season, Regional Director David Kirschke has urged everyone who has not yet received a flu shot to do so as soon as possible during this flu season.

“Getting a flu vaccine is the best way to protect yourself, your family and others from the flu and help keep our community healthy,” he said in a press release. ”The flu can make you very sick, keep you away from work, school and other activities, put you in the hospital or even take your life.”

State health officials say seasonal influenza activity is spreading throughout Northeast Tennessee and the state. Kirschke said it’s important for anyone over 6 months of age who hasn’t had a flu shot this flu season to get one as soon as possible.

The flu vaccine is especially important for infants, young children, pregnant women, adults over age 50 and those with chronic medical conditions.

"Flu kills, and we expect many more weeks of the annual seasonal flu epidemic ahead in Tennessee, so everyone who hasn’t yet had a flu vaccine should get one now,“ Tennessee Department of Heath Commissioner John Dreyzehner said in a press release. “Flu vaccination is still the best protection we have against this serious and deadly illness. The vaccine that can help prevent illness in you can also save another from illness or death if they were to get your flu, a kindness to others that just might save your own life.”

When and where to get the free flu shot in Northeast Tennessee:

• Wesley Memorial United Methodist Church (Washington County Health Department), 225 Princeton Road, Johnson City, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

• Unicoi County Health Department, 101 Okolona Drive, Erwin, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

• Carter County Health Department, 403 E. G St., Elizabethton, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

• Johnson County Health Department, 715 W. Main St., Mountain City, 10 a.m.-noon

• Hawkins/Church Hill Health Department, 247 Silver Lake Road, Church Hill, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

• Hawkins/Rogersville Health Department, 201 Park Blvd., Rogersville, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

• Hancock County Health Department, 178 Willow St., Sneedville, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

• Greene County Health Department, 810 Church Street, Greeneville, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. 

No appointments are necessary.

Johnson City Press Videos