Hensley and Shurtz to represent Erwin on EMS control board

Sue Guinn Legg • Updated Feb 10, 2020 at 8:54 PM

ERWIN — The Erwin Board of Mayor and Aldermen on Monday voted to appoint Alderwoman Rachelle Shurtz to serve with Mayor Doris Hensley as the town’s representatives on the new Unicoi County EMS control board.

Last month, county commissioners appointed Commissioner John Mosley to serve with Mayor Garland “Bubba” Evely on the EMS board. In Unicoi, Mayor Johnny Lynch will serve on the EMS board with a second representative of the town to be selected by the Unicoi Board of Mayor and Aldermen on Feb. 17.

The nine-member board will also include Eric Carroll, administrator of Unicoi County Hospital, the medical director selected for the new EMS, and one at-large member to be selected by the county mayor.

The joint ambulance committee made up of representatives from each of the three governments is scheduled to meet on Feb. 24. On the request of Washington County EMS Director Dan Wheely, the joint committee will continue to meet until Washington County’s one-year service agreement with Unicoi County expires and the new EMS goes into service on July 1.

Also on Monday, the Erwin board elected Vice Mayor Mark Lafever to serve another one year term as vice mayor and Alderman Gary Edwards to serve another year as chairman of the town’s Beverage Board.

In other business, the board gave final approval to a personnel policy amendment that will provide four weeks of annual vacation to town employees with 20 or more years of service.

Town Recorder Glenn Rosenoff said 10 town employees are currently eligible for the additional vacation and between 20 and 30 employees will be become eligible within the next year.

Johnson City Press Videos