Carter Landfill Committee proposes building for new Recycling Center

John Thompson • Oct 7, 2019 at 11:02 PM

ELIZABETHTON — The Landfill Committee of the Carter County Commission has chosen a building for the the future operation of the Carter County Recycling Center, but that building was not one of the two finalists it was considering.

Another building entered the competition late in the game, but the Landfill Committee liked the things it had to offer its recycling program and voted unanimously to recommend the purchase of the building at this month’s meeting of the County Commission.

The building is a 10,000-square-foot building on 4.6 acres of land. Although the Landfill Committee has toured the building, the committee has not yet released the location and identity of the building.

The county’s recycling operations have been stalled since a fire in its previous location, which was located in the old water treatment plant on the Bemberg property.

The shutdown of recycling operations has caused problems for both the Carter County Landfill and the Elizabethton Street and Sanitation Department.

The county appeared to be forming a consensus on a 45,000-square-foot building that formerly housed Ry Marc Plastics. It sits on about 8 acres of land on Cherokee Park Drive. It was assessed at $595,000.

The other choice was a building off Hatcher Lane on the east side of town.

The assessment on the building favored by the committee was$385,000. One advantage for the building was that it was already wired for 3-phase electrical service. It would cost about $50,000 to wire the other building for 3-phase power.

In other matters, Landfill Manager Benny Lyons said work is continuing on the new convenience station in Roan Mountain. He said the architecture class at Hampton High School has donated labor on building a portable building as an office for the station.

The Landfill Committee voted unanimously to hold a free dumping day for the grand opening of the facility.

The committee also selected officers to lead the committee for the coming year. Sonya Culler was unanimously elected to serve another year as chairwoman of the committee. Charles Von Cannon was elected as vice chairman and Layla Ward was elected secretary.

Johnson City Press Videos