Lyons retained as chair of Carter County Commission, Woodby selected as vice chair.

John Thompson • Sep 16, 2019 at 11:00 PM

ELIZABETHTON — The Carter County Commission elected its leadership for 2019-20, and there is no change at the top.

The cCommission overwhelmingly returned Ray Lyons as chairman. Lyons received 18 votes to 5 for Brad Johnson.

Johnson had been the vice chairman of the commission last year, but he was unseated for next year by Patty Woodby. Woodby had 13 votes to 10 for Johnson.

The commissioners also made assignments to standing committees. There were few changes from last year’s assignments. The only change on the Budget Committee was Aaron Frazier taking the seat held by Ray Lyons. Lyons takes the seats held by Frazier on the Rules and By-laws, Building and Grounds, Health and Welfare and Law Enforcement committee.

The assignments to the Budget Committee are: Willie Campbell, 1st District; Patty Woodby, 2nd District; Ronnie Trivett, 3rd District; Isaiah Grindstaff, 4th District; Ross Garland, 5th District; Travis Hill, 6th District; Aaron Frazier, 7th District; Kelly Collins, 8th District.

The assignments to the Law Enforcement, Building and Grounds, Health and Welfare and Rules and By-laws committees are: Robert Acuff, 1st District; Mike Hill, 2nd District; Brad Johnson, 3rd District; Austin Jaynes, 4th District, Ginger Holdren, 5th District; Randall Jenkins, 6th District; Ray Lyons, 7th District; Robin McKamey, 8th District.

The assignments to the Education, Landfill and Highway committee are: Mark Blevins, 1st District; Nancy Brown, 2nd District; Charles Von Cannon, 3rd District; Jerry Proffitt, 4th District; Layla Ward, 5th District; Gary Bailey, 6th District; Sonja Culler, 7th District;

The new members of the Financial Management Committee were also selected. The committee is comprised of three permanent members: the county mayor, the director of schools and the highway superintendent. Those are: Rusty Barnett. Kevin Ward and Roger Colbaugh.

The four additional members selected last night included: Brad Johnson, Austin Jaynes, Ginger Holdren, and Travis Hill.

In other matters, the commission heard from Carter County Emergency Management Agency Director Gary Smith about the response to last month’s airplane crash involving the Dale Earnhardt Jr. family. Smith said he heard a lot of compliments from federal officials on the local response and traffic management.

Sheriff Dexter Lunceford also addressed the commission on an emotional and sad matter. He said the state legislature had approved a procedure last year for the awarding of service weapons to Carter County deputies who retire.

Lunceford said Lt. Forrest Sharpe was in the process of retiring after 38 years ofd service, but he died before he was retired. Lunceford said the procedures approved by the state legislature did not provide for someone who was in the process of retiring when they died.

He said he was not authorized to present Sharpe’s gun to his family. He asked the Commission to authorize the presentation. The commission approved the sheriff’s request. The weapon is valued at $200.

Johnson City Press Videos