Qualifying deadline sets field for Unicoi County school board and state legislative races

Sue Guinn Legg • Updated Apr 5, 2018 at 9:44 PM

ERWIN — Thursday’s qualifying deadline for the state primary and county general elections in August paved the way four uncontested candidates for Unicoi County School Board and brought a new Democratic challenger into Unicoi and Carter counties’ 4th House District race.

State Races

In the running for the Tennessee House of Representatives, 4th District incumbent John B. Holtsclaw Jr. will face Tim Lingerfelt in the Aug. 2 Republican primary. The primary winner will be challenged by Democrat Mary Elizabeth Harder in November.

State Sen. Rusty Crowe will be run unopposed for another another term in the Senate in the August primary and November state general election.

School Board

In the August race for school board, incumbent Cathy Thomas and newcomer Tammy Edwards Tipton will run unopposed for two 1st District seats on the board. Incumbents Steve Scott and Steve Willis will run without opposition for two 3rd District seats they currently hold

District Attorney General

Thursday’s qualifying deadline also included candidates seeking to fill the 1st Judicial District Attorney General’s office vacated by the unexpected death of Tony Clark on March 25. Ken Baldwin, who was sworn in as Attorney General Pro Tem on Tuesday, was the only candidate to qualify for election to complete the four years remaining in Clark’s eight-year term. He will run opposed in the August general election in Washington, Carter, Unicoi and Johnson counties.

Party Executive Committees

Voters in the August state primary in Unicoi, Washington and Carter counties will have their choice of three candidates seeking election as commiteewoman for the Tennessee Repubican Party Executive Committee, Sharon Fletcher Boring, Anita Hodges Taylor and Betty Ziesel. Todd Fowler is running unopposed for state Republican Party State Executive Committeeman. Debbie McClaskey is running unopposed for state Democratic Party Executive Committeewoman.

County Mayor

The May 1 Republican primary will pit Unicoi County Mayor Greg Lynch against Unicoi County Board of Education member Garland “Bubba” Evely. The primary winner will go on to face independent candidates Johnny Day and Richard Preston in the August general election.


In a three-way August general election race for Unicoi County sheriff, incumbent Mike Hensley will be challenged by Jimmy Erwin and Robert Bryan McCurry.

County Commission

In Unicoi County’s 1st District, Commission Chairwoman Marie Rice and incumbent Commissioners Loren Thomas and Gene Wilson will go up against Eddie Bolton, Jamie Harris and Damon Wilson in the May 1 Republican primary race for three seats on the commission. With no general election contenders, the primary will determine the commission’s 1st District winners.

In District 2, incumbents Kenneth Garland, Glenn White and Jason Harris will face primary challenges for their seats from Michael Harris and Matthew K. Rice. Three primary winners will go up against independents Rob Martin and Lisa Brewington White in the August general election.

In District 3, incumbents John Mosley, Bridget Peters and Todd Wilcox will be challenged by Billy R. Harkins and Stephen Hendrix in the primary. With no general election opposition, the primary winners will take the district’s three commission seats in August.

Other County Offices

Unicoi County Trustee Paul Berry, Circuit Court Clerk Darren Shelton, County Clerk Mitzi Bowen, Register of Deeds Debbie Tittle and Road Superintendent Terry Haynes will all run unopposed in the May primary and in the August general election.

Email Sue Guinn Legg at [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter @sueleggjcpress. Like her on Facebook at facebook.com/sueleggjcpress.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos