Playoff decides individual girls title in Region 1 golf

Tanner Cook • Updated Sep 18, 2017 at 9:15 PM

ELIZABETHTON — Carley Downhour of Cumberland Gap needed every single hole and then some to win the Region 1 Small Schools Golf Tournament at the Elizabethton Golf Course on Monday.

She and University High’s Mattie Janutolo were tied at 78 after 18 holes and needed a playoff to determine the medallist. The playoff was played on holes 10, 17 and 18 until a winner was determined.

Downhour started with a birdie on no. 10, which Janutolo matched. Downhour then shot a par on no. 17, which Janutolo answered again with a par of her own.

Finally, Downhour made a birdie on No. 18 and Janutolo was unable to match her.

“I was super nervous and I couldn't believe [Janutolo] made the first birdie putt,” said Downhour. “Waiting was what made me even more nervous.”

North Greene won the girls title with a score of 168, led by an 82 from Katie Bolton — who had the fourth lowest score on the girls’ side. Katelynn Rector was the other scorer from North Greene with a solid round of 86.

The top three girls were Downhour, Janutolo and Happy Valley’s Hannah Younce (81). These ladies will be going to the state golf tournament next week in Manchester.

The boys individual medallist was Ananias Bonin from Chuckey-Doak with an outstanding score of even par at 72. Surprisingly enough, in last week’s district championship on the same course — but in worse conditions from Hurricane Irma — Bonin shot four shots better than he did on Monday.

“Going into the state tournament, I know what to do this year,” Bonin said. “I’m looking forward to it because I played it a few times over the summer and there’s going to be some nice weather down there.”

The boys team competition was won by the South Greene with a total score of 326, but it was not won with ease. It was a fight down to the wire, with University High scoring 328 for second place and Claiborne finishing third with 330.

The scorers for South Greene were led by Peyton Humphreys (76), Landon Brown (77), Hunter Hartman (85) and Isaac Hoese (88).

The individual state qualifiers on the boys’ side were Bonin, Zane Potter of North Greene and Michael Clark of Claiborne.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos