Johnson City Press: Trailblazers announce 2018 Hall of Fame inductees

Trailblazers announce 2018 Hall of Fame inductees

Douglas Fritz • Sep 26, 2018 at 3:57 PM

Daniel Boone’s Hall of Fame class for 2018 is either 13 people or 35, depending on how you look at it.

Joining 13 individual inductees is the Lady Trailblazers’ Class AAA state runner-up softball team from 2012. The induction ceremony for this year’s group will be held Oct. 25.

A reception will begin in the commons area at 6 p.m., followed at 6:45 by the formal inductions. Also, the inductees will be recognized at halftime of the Cherokee-Daniel Boone football game on Oct. 26.

Rick Wagner, who played a big role in starting the Trailblazers’ Hall of Fame, was the coach of 2012 team.

“I think sometimes it takes time to pass before you really realize how special events were, or people were, or teams were,” said Wagner. “It has been a few years, and I’ve seen a lot of softball between then and now. Looking back, that team may have been as good as there has ever been in this area. There were no weaknesses. We could run and had power, pitching, defense and depth.

“If it wasn’t for the fact we ran into (pitcher) Kelsey Nunley, we would have won the title.”

The Soddy Daisy star went on to rewrite the record book at the University of Kentucky, pitching the Lady Wildcats to the College World Series. As a senior at Kentucky, she was a finalist for the 2016 ASA/USA Softball Player of the Year award.

Wagner said the goal of the Hall of Fame, which started in 2015, was to honor former student-athletes.

“We wanted to build a tradition of letting these athletes know they had not been forgotten and their dedication is appreciated,” said Wagner. “The Hall of Fame has gone above and beyond any expectations when had when we started it.”

This year’s class is weighted in the 1970s with Ramona Squibb (1972, volleyball), Susan Kiernan (1973, cheerleading), Andy Barnes (1975, basketball), Danny Mitchell (1975, cross country, track), Jim Luethke (1976, wrestling, baseball), Robbie Ferguson (1979, wrestling) and Terri Adams (1979, basketball) making the list.

Joining them from the 1980s are Jennifer Beckelhimer (1984, basketball), Patty McDaniel (1982, track) and Bobby Snyder, Jr. (1980, basketball).

Being honored posthumously are Mike Harrison (1977, football, track), Jerry Nave (Special Contributor) and Ben Williams (2002, football).

The players from the 2012 softball team were Meredith Good, Jessie Wheelock, Jennine Duncan, Hannah Montoya, Jenna Carmody, Allison Littleton, Andrea Rogers, Natalie Sheffey, Megan Guinn, Kayla Smith, Taylor Robinson, Allison Sheffey, McKenzie Ferguson, Kayla Sanders, Kellie Waycaster. Also on the team list were coaches Bill Wagner, Anna Johnson-Cassell and Brad Anderson, along with Danny Good (athletic director), Craig Moorhouse (trainer) and Roger Jackson (principal).

Johnson City Press Videos