Washington County announces Teachers of the Year

Contributed To The Press • Feb 9, 2020 at 6:00 AM

Each year the Tennessee Department of Education sponsors the Teacher of the Year Program.

This program provides the opportunity to recognize outstanding teachers as well as promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers in schools throughout Tennessee.

In Washington County, the system level Teacher of the Year for 2020-21 in pre K-grade 4 is Mishayla Hensley, a first-grade teacher at Boones Creek Elementary School.

The Teacher of the Year for grades 5-8 is Diane O’Neal, a sixth- and eighth-grade science teacher at Sulphur Springs Elementary School. The Teacher of the Year in grades 9-12 is Kelly Davenport, a music/chorus teacher at David Crockett High School.

Your support of this opportunity to recognize and honor our best teachers is appreciated. We applaud the building level teachers who were nominated to submit an application for system-level consideration. The 2019-20 building-level teachers of the year are:

Pre K - grade 4

Boones Creek Elementary: Mishayla Hensley, first grade

Fall Branch: Julia Moore, first grade

Grandview: Sarah Babb, fourth grade

Gray: Rachel McCurry, second grade

Jonesborough Elementary: Ann Conner, kindergarten

Lamar: Sara Murr, special education

Ridgeview: Emilee Little, second grade

South Central: Michelle Snapp, kindergarten

Sulphur Springs: Jill Fox, physical education, K-fourth grades

West View: Tara Thompson, third grade

Grades 5-8

Boones Creek Middle: Melissa Graves, Art, fifth-eighth grades

Fall Branch: Amber Pugh Art, fifth-eighth grades

Grandview: Benjamin Davenport Music, fifth-eighth grades

Gray: Amy Knight, fifth grade, ELA

Jonesborough Middle: Marty Murr, eighth grade — ELA/social studies

Lamar: Teresa Lewis, special education

Ridgeview: Amber Bacon, fifth grade – ELA/social studies

South Central: Jacob Adkins, fifth and sixth grades – ELA

Sulphur Springs: Diane O’Neal, sixth-eighth grades — science

West View: Whitney Lucas, fifth grade — math & science

Grades 9-12

Daniel Boone: Tom Maines, science

David Crockett: Kelly Davenport, music/chorus

The application each teacher submitted will be returned at the next principals’ meeting. System-Level Teacher of the Year candidates must now refine Part 1 of the application.

The completed Part 1 application must then be submitted “online” by each candidate to the TDOE by Friday, Feb. 28. The System-Level Teacher of the Year candidates will then be considered for the Regional Teacher of the Year that will be selected by State Department of Education personnel during March.

Johnson City Press Videos