no avatar

Quillen College of Medicine’s Copeland receives Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award

Contributed • Nov 8, 2019 at 4:10 PM

Dr. Rebecca J. Copeland, professor of internal medicine at East Tennessee State University’s Quillen College of Medicine, received the Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award at the 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting of the Tennessee Chapter of American College of Physicians.

The award recognizes Copeland’s contributions over many years providing clinical education to medical students and nurse practitioners. For several years, Copeland has encouraged medical students during summer medical mission trips to Guatemala. Students, former students, colleagues and patients supported her by being present when she received her award.

“Thanks and appreciation go to my students and to the two overall leaders of my Guatemala mission trips: Dr. Ron Murray and Mr. Lee Harlan, who have provided me the opportunity to serve in what has become the most important teaching/service endeavor of my 27-year career,” Copeland said. “I am indebted to them both.”

In addition to Copeland’s award, Dr. Dhruvil Radadiya, internal medicine resident at Quillen, won first place in the resident poster competition for his work titled “Predictors and Trend of 30-Day Readmission in Patients with Decompensated Cirrhosis from 2010 to 2016.” His co-authors were Dr. Kalpit Devani, gastroenterology fellow at Quillen; Dr. Shivami Dalal of St. Mary Medical Center, Langhorne, Pa.; Dr. Varun Kohli, Quillen internal medicine resident; and Dr. Chakradhar Reddy, attending physician in Quillen’s Division of Gastroenterology.

Other internal medicine residents presenting posters included Drs. Sathvika Gaddam, Ali Bokhari and Utsab Panta. Four medical students presented posters in the medical student competition – Steven Irmeger, fourth-year student; Mark Aujla, third-year medical student; Greylon Gawaluk, second-year medical student; and Sarah King, second-year year medical student.

The residents comprised the ETSU team for the Doctor’s Dilemma (medical Jeopardy) competition and won first place. They will represent Tennessee in the national competition in 2020.

Drs. Rebecca Copeland, Robert Means, and Kenneth Olive served as judges for the resident and student poster competitions.

Finally, Dr. Robert Means, professor of Internal Medicine, was recognized as a newly elected Master of the American College of Physicians.

Johnson City Press Videos