Science Hill Advanced Placement program breaks school records

Contributed To The Press • Updated Aug 29, 2019 at 2:07 PM

Science Hill High School students are completing Advanced Placement courses at a record number, according to data provided by the College Board.

According to the data from last school year, Science Hill had 116 students earn an AP Scholar Award. That number is up from 90 students the previous year. AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated outstanding college-level achievement through their performance on AP Exams.

“We’re very proud that this outstanding collection of Hilltoppers are being recognized for their hard work and commitment to academic excellence,” Science Hill Principal Todd Barnett said.

“The Advanced Placement program allows our students to pursue a rigorous, college-level experience while staying on campus, and these results indicate that both our students and our AP teachers are taking the steps necessary to compete at an exceptionally high level.

“The increase from 90 AP Scholars to 116 AP Scholars is a tribute to our students, who seek additional academic challenges, as well as our teachers, who continue to set high expectations for themselves and their students.”

Currently there are 797 students enrolled in at least one Advanced Placement class at Science Hill. That is an increase from 614 students a year ago, and up from 313 students in 2018. There are now AP classes available for students as early as their freshman year and the program continues to grow.

This year Science Hill has expanded its AP offerings to 23 classes. They are also planning to add four more classes next year, to bring the total AP course offerings up to 27 classes. Science Hill is one of 14 high schools in the state that offers AP Seminar and AP Research.

Each fall, the AP Program recognizes high school students who have demonstrated outstanding college-level achievement through their performance on multiple AP Exams.

The AP Scholar Awards are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications and résumés. These honors were earned based on exam performance through 2019.

Students were informed of their receipt of these awards starting in mid-July on the student AP score report, with the exception of the State AP Scholar award, which is announced mid-August. Additionally, awards are listed on the official AP score report designated by students to be sent to colleges.

• 54 AP Scholars — Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.

They include: Karen O. Aimua, Tarek A. Atyia, Gracie L. Bradley, Elizabeth L. Carlson, Marilou D. Carr, Nicole M. Cash, Nya P. Conley, Liam B. Dahlberg, William E. Deford, Ashley P. DeRegis, Audrey M. Fairchild, Catherine M. Flaherty, Isabelle C. Garcia, Dan R. Good, James R. Graybeal, Even J. Hals, Christine E. Hansard, Helen Hoye, Abigail O. Jones, Jeb S. Jones, Jacob W. Kimball, Kunwoo Ko, Victor S. Lam, Mary C. Laufenberg, Tuck E. Ledbetterm Aaron J. Lemkin, Weng Y. Liew, Evelyn A. Massey, Jacob R. Matherne, Carter P. McClendon, Leah G. McMillion, Delia N. Mwinyelle, Katherine C. Nipper, Hannah J. Nivens, Rose M. O'Leary, Sun Jae Paek, Reagan P. Peltier, Max T. Polichnowski, Landon J. Potter, Shayna M. Price, Abigail L. Rountree, Kirby F. Sampson, Anna G. Seneker, Hollie A. Shuler, Kyler D. Sood, Isabella S. Swiatek, Seth W. Tramel, Sarah M. Treece, Grayson A. Vermillion, Silas Wang, Christopher S. Warlick, Emma G. Whisnant, Saryn A. White, Gabriela K. WiseCarver.

• 29 AP Scholars with honor — Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

They include: Abraham O. Adams, Shivam P. Amin, Natalie K. Antonelli, Johnathan L. Brannon, Agastya B. Chaturvedi, Jacob T. Clemons, Cooper A. Cross, Laura P. Dugan, Cohlman J. Dwyer, Saanvi Goenka, Kaley L. Hall, Kathryn B. Hamlin, Greta N. Higginbothamm, Isaac O. Johnson, Henry A. Jones, James G. Macariola, Brandan D. Maupin, Maame K. Mensah-Bonsu, Katy N. Neubert, Russell T. Perry, Thao T. Pham, Brady E. Potter, Lillian Qin, Karen A. Ramosvillagomez, Jacob A. Rogers, Gabrielle I. Shipstone, Rachel K. Smith, Kate M. Southerland and Sunshine Wheeler.

• 33 AP Scholars with distinction — Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

They include: Megan E. Barnes, Brandon J. Beaudry, Jackson C. Breeding, Jakob Z. Cielo, Calen C. Cummings, William C. Diehl, Hannah M. Donahue, Andrew P. Dorris, Daniel Y. Feng, Jacob R. Fielden, Katherine G. Flynn, Attie M. Forbes, Alice N. Grosserode, Caroline E. Hecht, Marlee S. Kastens, Andrew M. Keith, Karissa X. Korman, Christine S. Liang, Jimmy Y. Liu, Kara M. Lucchesi, Evan L. Magness, Rebecca A. Miller, Morgan A. Misenar, Ly Na H. Nguyen, Grady L. Owen, Suhyeon Park, Franklin Pezzuti Dyer, Hendrix Price, Sean E. Raudat, Stanislav A. Razskazovskiy, Nour Shams, Braxton S. Westbrook and Dylan A. Zelasko.

• 7 National AP Scholars — Granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

They are: Jakob Z. Cielo, Jimmy Y. Liu, Rebecca A. Miller, Grady L. Owen, Suhyeon Park, Franklin Pezzuti Dyer and Dylan A. Zelasko.

1 AP International Diploma — The AP International Diploma is a globally recognized certificate awarded to students who display exceptional achievement across a variety of disciplines.

The student was Rebecca A. Miller.

Johnson City Press Videos