no avatar

AACP Walmart Scholars Program awards two research fellows at ETSU pharmacy school

Contributed • May 24, 2019 at 5:27 PM

Two research fellows at East Tennessee State University’s Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy received the prestigious American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Walmart Scholars Program award, putting the college in the top 20% of schools across the country who had multiple recipients.

The award seeks to strengthen the recipient’s skills and commitment to a career in academic pharmacy through participation in programming and activities at the 2019 AACP Annual Meeting and Seminars in July.

Of the 142 U.S-based pharmacy schools in the country, only 64 had students who received the award for a total of 85 students. Only 24 schools had two or more students.

Drs. Tyler Melton and Aaron Salwan, both community pharmacy practice research fellows at Gatton College of Pharmacy, received the awards. Melton’s faculty mentor is Dr. Nick Hagemeier, associate professor of Pharmacy Practice; Salwan’s is Dr. Sarah Melton, professor of Pharmacy Practice.

Tyler Melton, of Sylva, North Carolina, received his bachelor’s in chemistry and biology from Western Carolina University in 2008, and he earned his PharmD from ETSU in 2012.

Salwan, of Stow, Ohio, graduated from Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy in May of 2017.

In addition, Gatton College of Pharmacy alumna Jessica M. Robinson (’17) earned an AACP Walmart Scholars Program award. She is completing a fellowship at the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos