no avatar

Johnson City Schools announces Teachers of the Year

Contributed • Feb 8, 2019 at 11:51 PM

Teachers from Towne Acres, Indian Trail and Science Hill have been chosen Johnson City Schools’ district-level teachers of the year.

Each of the three was first honored by the school as building teacher of the year before being chosen by a district-wide committee, which included former teachers of the year and administrators, for system honors.

Towne Acres Elementary School first-grade teacher Patricia Taylor was chosen for the Pre-K-through-grade 4 division, and Indian Trail Intermediate School sixth-grade teacher Heidi Kane won the grades 5-through-8 division. The grades nine-through-12 division winner is Science Hill High School English teacher Angela Taylor.

“We are proud of all of our Teacher of the Year nominees and our district-level winners,” Johnson City Schools Superintendent Steve Barnett said. “These educators epitomize the best of what Johnson City Schools is; a great learning environment with committed educators. We are proud and thankful for their service and dedication.”

Elementary winners at the school-level include Mandy Peterson, Cherokee; Rebekah Hughes, Fairmont; Cathy Botts, Lake Ridge; Whitney Pearson, Mountain View; Ashley Wolfe, North Side; Andrea Perry, South Side; and Christina Vines, Woodland.

At the middle grade level, winners include Indian Trail teachers Robyn Ivester and Becky Fee, while winners from Liberty Bell include Kelsey Walker, Stephanie Ledford and Jessica Adams.

At the high school level, winners include Josh Berry, Caroline Darden, Jeff Kleven, Jessica Schiwitz and Celia Street.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos