no avatar

ETSU announces members of Community Service Scholars Class

Contributed • Updated Oct 11, 2017 at 11:33 PM

JOHNSON CITY – The Honors College at East Tennessee State University has announced its inaugural class of 16 Presidential Honors Community Service Scholars.

The new cohort-based scholarship program provides an opportunity for high-achieving students with a passion for community service to develop as active citizens, scholars and leaders.

“This program fits with the strategic vision of the university to emphasize community service and engagement and it made sense for us as an Honors College,” said Daniel Hedden, director of the Presidential Honors Community Service Scholars and curriculum coordinator for the Honors College. “We have several unique programs and our students already engage in a lot of community service, but we didn’t have anything specifically focused on it. Civic engagement is certainly important enough to base an honors program on.”

The Presidential Honors Community Service Scholarship is awarded to a limited number of incoming freshmen meeting academic and residency requirements. The $6,000 scholarship is awarded per academic year and is renewable for eight semesters. Scholars are required to enroll in a rigorous 18-hour honors curriculum with added service learning components and must perform a minimum of 40 hours of community service each semester, which will culminate in a capstone service project.

“My hope is that the students will progress from exploring things in their first year to taking on more leadership roles by the time they leave here,” Hedden said. “This is more than isolated incidents of service. It is four years of concentrated service that provides them with a portfolio of service at the end of four years.”

For more information about the Presidential Honors Community Service Scholars, visit http://www.etsu.edu/honors/service_scholars.

Members of the Presidential Honors Community Service Scholars Class of 2021 include:

Emily Fox of Clarksville is the daughter of Michelle and Keith Fox, and a recent graduate of Rossview High School. She is a political science and international affairs major, and serves as vice president of members for Circle K International.

Scarlett Edmunds, the daughter of Samuel and Jessica Edmunds of Kingsport, is majoring in mathematics with a concentration in education. She is an ETSU admissions ambassador.

Angela “Elysabeth” Sexton is studying psychology at ETSU. She is the daughter of Tim and Angie Sexton of Louisville and a member of Mount Lebanon Baptist Church.

Kate Carter is a Nashville native studying at ETSU.

Sierra Thomas is the daughter of Brian and Rosa Thomas, each of Newcomb. She is a member of the Jellico High School Class of 2017.

Ashley Sexton is a clinical psychology major and member of the psychology club and the Sherrod Library Student Advisory Council. She is the daughter of Mike and Tina Sexton of New Market.

Zach Cutright is the son of Mark and Jill Cutright of Paris. He is a chemistry major and a member of the Pre-Health Living and Learning Community and Alpha Epsilon Delta.

Caitlin Hale is the daughter of Donald and April Hale of Piney Flats. She is a member of the Sullivan East High School Class of 2017 and now studies nursing at ETSU.

Haley Owens, the daughter of Roger and Diane Owens of Pulaski, is majoring in chemistry at ETSU.

James Gilley is the son of Edward Gilley Sr. of Sparta. He is a biology major and an Eagle Scout.

Zebedee Damrau is studying physics and is a member of the Honors in Discipline Scholars Program and the Society of Physics Students. He is the son of Matthew and Charity Damrau of Telford.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos