Johnson City Press: Elizabethton teachers of the year selected

Elizabethton teachers of the year selected

John Thompson • Updated Feb 21, 2017 at 9:52 PM

ELIZABETHTON — The Elizabethton City School Board recognized the teachers of the year at both system level and building level during the monthly board meeting on Tuesday night.

The system level teachers of the year are: Beth Stevens in grades K-4; Kip Anderson in grades 5-8 and Joe Diaz was the high school teacher of the year.

In a congratulatory letter to each of the teachers of the year, Assistant Director of Schools Richard VanHuss wrote to each of them: “You have exhibited academic excellence, professional development, and community service in a way that is a credit to you, your peers, and the Elizabethton City Schools. Your outstanding service, love, and devotion to our students and our school system is not only noted, but also greatly appreciated.”

Diaz teaches at Elizabethton High School and Anderson teaches at T.A. Dugger Junior High School. Stevens teaches at Harold McCormick Elementary School.

The other building level teachers of the year were: Amber Ebarb and Julie Smith at East Side Elementary; Becky Wagner at Harold McCormick; Julie Harsook and Frank Faniola at West Side Elementary.

In other matters, Director of Schools Corey Gardenhour sent a letter to City Manager Jerome Kitchens on Tuesday requesting the City Council approve a $50,000 increase in the operating allocation for the school system. Gardenhour said that would increase the city’s total allocation for the school system to $2,450,000.

“These additional funds would help meet security and technology needs,” Gardenhour wrote. “We plan to make adjustments within our budget to cover increased salary and insurance costs with the anticipation of increased funding from the state.

Gardenhour also told Kitchens that he plans to discuss the funding for the project to expand T.A. Dugger. He said it would be in the best interests of the students of Elizabethton to have the half-cent sales tax currently committed to the school system be committed throughout the repayment schedule of the outstanding bond issues, which terminates on June 30, 2034.

Johnson City Press Videos