Boone boys win fourth straight Big 11 title; SH’s Jones is individual champ

Jeff Birchfield • Updated Oct 17, 2019 at 9:43 PM

BRISTOL — Daniel Boone won its fourth straight Big 11 Conference boys’ cross country championship Thursday at Steele Creek Park.

Placing five runners in the top-seven positions, the Trailblazers defeated runner-up Science Hill 26-48 for their eighth championship in the last nine years.

Sophomore Conner Wingfield (16:24) led Boone’s efforts with a second-place finish in the individual race. Max Austin (17:12) was third, followed by Bryson Lewis (17:23) in sixth, Keaton Smith (17:40) in seventh and Mason Lewis (17:47) in eighth.

Two other Boone runners — Jameson Cline and Carlos Brown — finished in the top 15 to earn all-conference honors.

“We’re so senior-oriented. We had five seniors on our varsity seven,” Boone coach Len Jeffers said. “They’re all about the team. Some of the stories I could tell that they’ve done for their teammates would blow your mind. They have fun outside of school and practice. They’re tight knit like a family.”


Science Hill senior Aaron Jones ran 16:14 to win the individual race over by 10 seconds over Wingfield.

Jones and Science Hill teammate Ray Richardson set the pace early before Jones pulled away about a mile into the race. Richardson finished fourth at 17:16.

“I wasn’t trying to do too much. I was just going out there to get the job done,” Jones said. “I tried to stay steady and consistent throughout the race.”

Zach Cooper (17:56) in 12th, Caleb Lee (18:28) in 17th and Anderson (18:36) in 18th also scored for the Hilltoppers.

Bryson Livesay of David Crockett (17:23) finished fifth individually.


Sasha Neglia broke both her meet and course record in winning a fourth straight conference championship. For her, the bigger accomplishment than running 17:42 was leading her Lady Indians to the team championship.

“I just want to be a team player and we’re all in this together,” Neglia said. “It’s good how all of us work together.”

The Lady Indians won 29-60 over runner-up Daniel Boone.

Emma Russum finished third overall with a 19:19 run, followed by Julianna McReynolds in fifth at 19:57. Autumn Headrick (20:14) in seventh and Gracie Allen (21:08) in 13th rounded out D-B’s scoring.

For Boone, Kamryn Wingfield (19:49) led the way with a fourth-place finish. Patricia Chellah (20:11) in sixth, Judy Chellah (20:55) in 11th, Grace Sheldon (21:38) in 18th and Lauren Spry (22:05) in 21st also scored for the Lady ’Blazers.

Science Hill had three all-conference runners — Trinny Duncan in ninth, Destiny Haller in 12th, Jordan McIntosh in 14th and Ashley Doyle 15th. David Crockett had two all-conference runners — Rachel Dulaney was eighth and Ashlynn Roy finished 10th.

Johnson City Press Videos