Deputy clerks join mayor, county commissioners in taking oaths to start a new term in Carter County

John Thompson • Updated Sep 4, 2018 at 5:11 PM

ELIZABETHTON — Friday was a day of transition for Carter County government. With the coming of September, all of the terms of Carter County officers, with the exception of judges and the property assessor, expired. It was also the time when those officers who were elected by the county voters in the Aug. 2 general election officially began their terms.

This year, the transfer of offices began at the very top, with Rusty Barnett assuming the office of Carter County mayor, replacing Leon Humphrey, who held the office for the past eight years. There was also a change in the office of register of deeds, with retiring Jody Bristol turning over her office to Jarrod Ellis.

There is also a major transition with the Carter County Commission, with 11 new commissioners on the 24-member board.

But while Sessions Court Judge Keith Bowers Jr. gave the oath of office to these county officials, there was another oath administered near the close of business at the Circuit Court clerk’s office.

While elected officials must take an oath of office prior to assuming their duties, the county’s deputy clerks must also take an oath to perform their duties in accordance with state law and the Constitution. Joining the deputy clerks in taking the oaths were the judicial commissioners, who perform the court’s business after hours and on weekends.

Criminal Court Judge Lisa Rice administered the oath to these officials, who carry out the important work of preparing cases for trial, recording the judge’s verdicts and sentences, and performing many other tasks of administering justice in Carter County.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos