Forbes picks up two more coach of the year honors

Joe Avento • Updated Mar 23, 2020 at 6:06 PM

Just call him everybody’s coach of the year.

Steve Forbes, the East Tennessee State basketball coach, was chosen as the winner of the Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year Award and the District 21 coach of the year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches on Monday. The Hugh Durham goes to the top mid-major coach in the country and is awarded by Collegeinsider.com.

This comes not long after Forbes was picked as the national Mid-Major coach of the year by ESPN as well as winning the Southern Conference’s award as top coach.

The latest awards came a day after Forbes’ 55th birthday.

Two of Forbes’ players, Tray Boyd and Bo Hodges, were on the all-district team, which was announced Monday.

Forbes led the Bucs to a 30-4 record, a school record for wins. They became the fourth team in SoCon history win at least 30 games. ETSU won the SoCon regular season and tournament titles and finished No. 26 in the Coaches Poll and No. 27 in the Associated Press Poll.

Boyd, a senior guard, was a first-team all-district selection. He was ETSU’s leading scorer for the second year in a row, averaging 13.6 points per game. Boyd led the team with 81 3-pointers and 51 steals and scored a career-high 30 points against UNC Greensboro this season.

Hodges, who went over 1,000 points for his career during the SoCon tournament, was a second-team pick. The junior guard averaged 12.7 points and was ETSU’s all-around star. He was the only player in the country to have at least 420 points, 190 rebounds, 80 assists, 45 steals and 25 blocks. His high game was 27 points against Chattanooga.

Also making the all-district first team were UNC Greensboro’s Isaiah Miller, Furman’s Jordan Lyons and the Western Carolina duo of Mason Faulkner and Carlos Dotson. In addition to Hodges, the second team consisted of Mercer’s Djordje Dimitrijevic, Wofford’s Nathan Hoover, Chattanooga’s Matt Ryan and Furman’s Clay Mounce.

Johnson City Press Videos