<<<<<<< .mine ||||||| .r421 ======= >>>>>>> .r422

Happy Valley Hall of Fame to welcome new class

Johnson City Press • Apr 6, 2019 at 5:36 PM

The Happy Valley High School Hall of Fame will enshrine its largest class on Saturday, April 13 at Bayless Gym.

Three basketball teams — the 1950 and 1974 state title winners along with the 1941 state runner-up squad — are on the induction list.

Individual inductees include former basketball coach Charlie Bayless, former assistant basketball coach Dickie Renfro and ex-football standouts Scotty Verran and Tony Garland. Verran is currently the coach at South Greene.

Also on the list are Russell Kyte (basketball), Ray Burchfield (basketball), Chuck Babb (basketball), Garth McKinney (basketball, baseball), Kortney Goulds Caldwell (track, basketball), Erica Babb Beach (basketball), Larry Brown (track), Andy Curde (track), Jeff Vance (track), David Hughes Jr. (track) and Katie Williams Crowder (track).

Boones Creek/Daniel Boone basketball coaching great Bobby Snyder will be recognized as “Honored Enemy Warrior Chief.” Previous winners of this award were Hampton’s Jerry White and Science Hill’s Elvin Little.

Inductees will meet in the cafeteria at 6 p.m. and doors open at 6:45 p.m. for guests.

Johnson City Press Videos