Johnson City Press Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Opinion
Stop disputing fact

Stop disputing fact

March 17th, 2014 10:10 am by BILL SMITH

In Forum on March 7, Ron McCarley tried to dispute the reality of global warming and asserted that "climate alarmism" is a misplaced attitude.

Comments
Opinion
Neighbor needs help

Neighbor needs help

March 17th, 2014 10:10 am by MARY ANN STANISLOWSKY

I'm writing to reach out to the good people of Washington County because two caring and kind-hearted people need help in the wake of a serious tragedy.

Comments
Opinion
Leaving animals at shelter shouldn't be criminal

Leaving animals at shelter shouldn't be criminal

March 17th, 2014 10:09 am by KATHRYN M. BERRY

There was a recent story about 20 dogs in poor condition being placed in drop-off boxes outside the Washington County/Johnson City Animal Shelter.

Comments
Opinion
Sunshine week: Government transparence is crucial

Sunshine week: Government transparence is crucial

March 17th, 2014 10:07 am by Johnson City Press

Tennesseans have two powerful tools for insuring our governments are open and accessible. One is the state's Sunshine Law.

Comments
Opinion
Bristol races are special and so are the fans

Bristol races are special and so are the fans

March 17th, 2014 10:04 am by Johnson City Press

We're glad you're here for the NASCAR races and we want to say "thank you" for spending your hard-earned wages in our local businesses.

Comments
Opinion
Socialism is theft

Socialism is theft

March 14th, 2014 8:42 am by ROGER M. CLITES

When I was in the second grade, I first encountered a "do-gooder's" motivation by what amounted to socialism

Comments
Opinion
Prager is lost about human instinct, religion, history and secularism

Prager is lost about human instinct, religion, history and secularism

March 14th, 2014 8:41 am by DR. DAVID FAGELSON

Once again I have to take exception to the right-wing nonsense of Dennis Prager. He states that it is only religion that enforces our moral code of action.

Comments
Opinion
County needs money for services, not perks

County needs money for services, not perks

March 14th, 2014 8:39 am by Johnson City Press

It's time to end the taxpayer-subsidized health insurance coverage for Washington County commissioners. As Press staff writer Gary B. Gray reported in Thursday's paper, the cost of this perk is estimated to be $122,508 for this year alone.

Comments
Opinion
Johnson City should revisit wi-fi connectivity

Johnson City should revisit wi-fi connectivity

March 13th, 2014 10:25 am by Johnson City Press

As we've noted in this space before, the early part of this century sees our region suffering from a pronounced disparity of a vital utility - broadband Internet.

Comments
Opinion
Use of car horns

Use of car horns

March 12th, 2014 8:46 am by ROBERT H. KEITER

I liked your recent editorial about appropriate use of an automobile horn - it should be used as a warning only.

Comments