Johnson City Press Monday, September 15, 2014
Opinion
Helipad project would be good use of county's money

Helipad project would be good use of county's money

May 22nd, 2014 8:46 am by Johnson City Press

Unicoi County officials are correct in wanting to spend a $750,000 windfall from the sale of the Unicoi County Memorial Hospital as wisely as possible. To that extent, we can't think of a more sensible way to use those dollars than to help fund a proposed

Comments
Opinion
Ignored by Johnson City

Ignored by Johnson City

May 21st, 2014 10:00 am by MICHAEL BROSENNE

Is the Johnson City Commission listening? Commissioners have stated they do not like the moratorium on annexation and may have to raise our property taxes.

Comments
Opinion
Court OK'd dark money

Court OK'd dark money

May 21st, 2014 9:30 am by WILLIAM PRENDERGAST

The problem with "dark money" started with the Citizens United ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court.

Comments
Opinion
Kudos to Mountain Home

Kudos to Mountain Home

May 21st, 2014 9:10 am by T.V. TERRY

I know nothing of secret appointment lists and veterans who die while awaiting care, but after many years of receiving medical care from the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Mountain Home, I can attest to the quality of care that I and other family member

Comments
Opinion
Local VA hospital provides great care

Local VA hospital provides great care

May 21st, 2014 8:47 am by DEAN MALONE

I am a veteran of the U.S. Navy and have been a patient at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Mountain Home, since 2003. I have never been back-logged in any manner and have been treated in an excellent manner since my first visit to the facility.

Comments
Opinion
Lobbying money brings up spectre of the past

Lobbying money brings up spectre of the past

May 21st, 2014 8:44 am by Johnson City Press

Lobbyist money is again flowing freely on Capitol Hill in Tennessee. In fact, according to a recent story in the Knoxville News Sentinel, it's practically gushing.

Comments
Opinion
Medicaid expansion

Medicaid expansion

May 20th, 2014 9:30 am by JACK VAN ZANDT

Recently a letter was published in which the writer explained "Gov. Bill Haslam's refusal to expand Medicaid and his requests for a special arrangement for Tennessee under the Affordable Care Act is an indulgent political ploy that is undermining our stat

Comments
Opinion
Education opportunities

Education opportunities

May 20th, 2014 9:00 am by BENNY WHITTEMORE

Tennessee students - your future now lies in your hands. There are no excuses.

Comments
Opinion
Lawmakers should do everything they can to protect our climate

Lawmakers should do everything they can to protect our climate

May 20th, 2014 8:43 am by GLORIA GRIFFITH

Lawmakers must act now to protect our climate, communities and health. Extreme weather is already taking a toll on our health and wallets in Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
Enforce exsisting laws

Enforce exsisting laws

May 19th, 2014 10:45 am by JOHN C. BRYANT

According to the May 11 Press editorial, Tennessee officials need to "miraculously find another funding source for road projects in order to avoid gasoline tax increase.

Comments