Johnson City Press Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Opinion
Should we allow 'dark money' to influence state elections?

Should we allow 'dark money' to influence state elections?

May 12th, 2014 9:11 am by Johnson City Press

A top Republican leader says he will have something to say about the Aug. 7 retention election of three Tennessee Supreme Court judges.

Comments
Opinion
Sunsetting of Windows XP leaves computers vulnerable

Sunsetting of Windows XP leaves computers vulnerable

May 12th, 2014 9:02 am by BOB PROBULIS

Over the past month you may or may not have heard that Microsoft has decided to sunset support for Windows XP. The date has come and gone and I have found that many of my friends have no idea how to react to it.

Comments
Opinion
State must find a way to fund road projects

State must find a way to fund road projects

May 12th, 2014 9:00 am by Johnson City Press

State government officials will soon have to make some tough decisions on how to fund vital transportation projects in Tennessee. It is a discussion the governor and members of the state General Assembly have put off for far too long.

Comments
Opinion
Consumers want local organic food on their tables

Consumers want local organic food on their tables

May 12th, 2014 8:42 am by Johnson City Press

More Americans are now asking for meat, vegetables and dairy foods that are produced locally and without growth hormones or preservatives. It is a trend that benefits both local farmers as well as the markets that sell their products.

Comments
Opinion
Addicted babies

Addicted babies

May 9th, 2014 10:00 am by FRED DEAKINS

I have helped in the care of addicted newborns and fetal alcohol syndrome babies.

Comments
Opinion
Treating the person

Treating the person

May 9th, 2014 9:30 am by JESSICA POFF

An estimated 36,570 people will hear the words "you have cancer" this year in Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
Contributions being held hostage by demands

Contributions being held hostage by demands

May 9th, 2014 8:57 am by BRENDA S. FIELDEN

Is anyone else bothered by "Shelter plan expanding to satisfy donors' demands"?

Comments
Opinion
Foster parents, mentors make a difference in children's lives

Foster parents, mentors make a difference in children's lives

May 9th, 2014 8:55 am by Johnson City Press

May is National Foster Care Awareness Month. It's a time to call attention to the plight of foster children and to encourage more Americans to become involved.

Comments
Opinion
Election brought drama, but may help end some drama

Election brought drama, but may help end some drama

May 8th, 2014 8:42 am by Johnson City Press

Whew! What an election night in Washington County.It was truly was one for the books (and not necessarily in a good way).

Comments
Opinion
Religious rights

Religious rights

May 7th, 2014 10:25 am by ALTON STEPHENS

As a Christian I feel that we have had and still have the vast majority of rights offered to Americans.

Comments