Johnson City Press Sunday, November 23, 2014
Opinion
Should service animal rules be made more clear?

Should service animal rules be made more clear?

June 2nd, 2014 9:10 am by j

Just what is a service animal and where are they allowed to go?

Comments
Opinion
Columnist Thomas Sowell manipulates, ignores the facts

Columnist Thomas Sowell manipulates, ignores the facts

June 2nd, 2014 8:54 am by BILL SMITH

When doctors treat their patients, they provide remedies that have been shown to be effective in multiple clinical trials. In other words, they thoughtfully consider the facts and then choose an appropriate course of action. In contrast, when politicians

Comments
Opinion
Closing Legion Pool should be last option

Closing Legion Pool should be last option

June 2nd, 2014 8:52 am by Johnson City Press

Closing Legion Street Pool is a very bad idea, and we hope Johnson City leaders will explore other options before even contemplating draining this city's only public outdoor swimming pool.

Comments
Opinion
Bugs are back, could be carrying disease

Bugs are back, could be carrying disease

June 2nd, 2014 8:44 am by Johnson City Press

Ouch, they're back!We are, of course, talking about those pesky mosquitoes. And while most Americans consider mosquitoes to be nothing more than a nuisance, they do pose a real public health threat that can prove deadly for some.

Comments
Opinion
The people's money

The people's money

May 30th, 2014 10:45 am by LARRY TREADWAY

I have been following the debate concerning the Johnson City Power Board's donation to a performing arts center since it started. I believe that this money belongs to the people who purchase power from this utility.

Comments
Opinion
Customer rebates

Customer rebates

May 30th, 2014 10:00 am by JOHN C. SMITH

To begin with, the Johnson City Power Board's $500,000 donation in 2006 to the East Tennessee State University School of Pharmacy has nothing to do with the Power Board's latest donation decision. That was then, this is now - two totally different scenari

Comments
Opinion
Power Board's mission

Power Board's mission

May 30th, 2014 9:45 am by HAROLD WILSON

In my view asking if the donations the Johnson City Power Board makes support economic development is not the most important question

Comments
Opinion
Help ratepayers first

Help ratepayers first

May 30th, 2014 9:30 am by JIM WILSON

I read recently in the Johnson City Press about the $500,000 donation from the Johnson City Power Board to East Tennessee State University's performing arts center. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income and I feel outraged that the Power Board has that

Comments
Opinion
Lower our rates

Lower our rates

May 30th, 2014 8:55 am by PEGGY ADAMS

My feeling is that if Johnson City Power Board has extra dollars to "donate" to anything, then their customers are paying way too much for power.

Comments
Opinion
Government should review railroad industry regulations

Government should review railroad industry regulations

May 30th, 2014 8:52 am by Johnson City Press

The off-again, on-again railroad overpass project in Erwin is on again. As Press Erwin Bureau Chief Brad Hicks reported recently, the steel needed to construct a portion of the bridge that will go over the railroad tracks crossing Second Street has finall

Comments