Johnson City Press Saturday, May 23, 2015
Opinion
Time to stop passing the bottle in Tennessee

Time to stop passing the bottle in Tennessee

December 1st, 2014 11:32 am by Johnson City Press

While no driver may drink alcohol or possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage while operating a motor vehicle in Tennessee, passengers are allowed under state law to consume booze in that very same vehicle.

Comments
Columns Community Voices Opinion
There is no such being known as the free market

There is no such being known as the free market

December 1st, 2014 11:03 am by Kenneth Gough

"Humanizing the non-human seems to be universal, and not just among the ancients, cartoonists and little children" -Kenneth Gough.

Comments
Columns Opinion
Wind power promises are just a lot of hot air

Wind power promises are just a lot of hot air

December 1st, 2014 10:19 am by Ron McCarley

"I suspect that many environmental proponents of wind power don't really understand what they are advocating" - Ron McCarley, Johnson City.

Comments
Opinion
Should Johnson City renew its red-light camera contract?

Should Johnson City renew its red-light camera contract?

December 1st, 2014 9:53 am by Johnson City Press

We want to hear from you.

Comments
Opinion
Hang up and drive safely this holiday season

Hang up and drive safely this holiday season

December 1st, 2014 9:49 am by Johnson City Press

We also remind motorists not to drink and drive during this season.

Comments
Opinion
'Tis the season for home burglaries

'Tis the season for home burglaries

November 28th, 2014 12:00 am by Johnson City Press

The day after Thanksgiving is the traditional start of the Christmas shopping season. It can make or break a small business, so it's no surprise retailers hope to see their stores full of customers today.

Comments
Opinion
As We See It: Congress should act on immigration reform

As We See It: Congress should act on immigration reform

November 24th, 2014 9:47 am by Johnson City Press

Immigration is too important a national issue to become entangled in such partisan wrangling.

Comments
Opinion
Should Congress OK oil pipeline from Canada?

Should Congress OK oil pipeline from Canada?

November 24th, 2014 9:01 am by Johnson City Press

We want to know what you think.

Comments
News Opinion
Move for evening-only meetings defeated in Carter County

Move for evening-only meetings defeated in Carter County

November 18th, 2014 8:40 am by John Thompson

With few items of any controversy on the agenda, Monday's meeting of the Carter County Commission went smoothly and most votes were unanimous or only with a little opposition.

Comments
Opinion
Should Republicans act now on immigration?

Should Republicans act now on immigration?

November 17th, 2014 2:20 pm by Johnson City Press

"I get really frustrated with people on my side of the aisle who say that anything you do on immigration is amnesty" - U.S. Senator Bob Corker, R-Tennessee.

Comments