Johnson City Press Saturday, July 4, 2015
Columns Community Voices Opinion
State lawmakers are the true takers' in Nashville

State lawmakers are the true takers' in Nashville

March 23rd, 2015 4:54 pm by Jennie Young, Guest Columnist

With the governor, the state's hospital groups and almost two-thirds of the state's population on our side, we're a sorry lot if we can't send them back for a do-over.

Comments
Opinion
'Dark money' remains a problem in state elections

'Dark money' remains a problem in state elections

March 23rd, 2015 4:32 pm by Johnson City Press

Just how much dark money was spread around in November's state elections is unknown.

Comments
Columns As I See It Opinion
Divisions are growing inside the GOP ranks

Divisions are growing inside the GOP ranks

March 23rd, 2015 4:21 pm by Robert Houk

Legitimate issues that impact the daily lives of most Tennesseans get lost in the noise of partisanship and ideology.

Comments
Crime Opinion
Should Tennessee counties pursue regional jails?

Should Tennessee counties pursue regional jails?

March 23rd, 2015 3:58 pm by Johnson City Press

The state comptroller's office released a report in 2006 suggesting counties in Tennessee could save money by operating regional jails.

Comments
Opinion
Sunshine is needed for open government

Sunshine is needed for open government

March 18th, 2015 2:18 pm by Johnson City Press

Sadly, there are some in our government who still seek to block the illuminating rays of public scrutiny.

Comments
Opinion
Is it time for 'death with dignity' in Tennessee?

Is it time for 'death with dignity' in Tennessee?

March 18th, 2015 2:14 pm by Johnson City Press

Tennessee is currently one of 40 states with laws that expressly prohibits assisted suicide.

Comments
Opinion
Forum:  Just say no to state sniper rifle

Forum: Just say no to state sniper rifle

March 9th, 2015 11:17 am by Mailbag

"I agree with historical interpreter Chad Bogart that the better choice for an official state symbol for Tennessee is the long rifle" -STEVE W. LINDER, Jonesborough.

Comments
Opinion
Help others while you clean this spring

Help others while you clean this spring

March 9th, 2015 9:25 am by Johnson City Press

Instead of tossing them into the garbage, why not donate those slightly used garments to a local thrift store?

Comments
Columns As I See It Opinion
Enough of the nonsense in Nashville

Enough of the nonsense in Nashville

March 9th, 2015 9:19 am by Robert Houk

Little did I know just how whacky the Republican-led state General Assembly could get.

Comments
Opinion
Should 'God' be inserted into the Tennessee constitution?

Should 'God' be inserted into the Tennessee constitution?

March 9th, 2015 9:10 am by Johnson City Press

We want to know what you think.

Comments