Johnson City Press Thursday, October 23, 2014
Opinion
Dress appropriately

Dress appropriately

June 6th, 2014 9:45 am by CAROL BOWERS

I am disgusted at the way most people dress these days. I get upset when I see pretty little girls dressed in provocative dresses that are too sexy for children. To me this is very dangerous in this day and time.

Comments
Opinion
Obama doesn't care

Obama doesn't care

June 6th, 2014 9:15 am by CHARLES TRIFILETTI

President Obama promised many times, both as a candidate and as president, that he would deal effectively with the problems in the Department of Veterans Affairs health care system. Unfortunately, by this time we know how much a promise from the current c

Comments
Opinion
Johnson City lacks useful amenities

Johnson City lacks useful amenities

June 6th, 2014 8:45 am by RICHARD ROLLER

Here we go again. We still don't have an animal shelter, only a hint of one. We have no farmers market, only a hint of one. And don't get me started on a seniors' center just for seniors.

Comments
Opinion
Parents should talk to teens about distracted driving

Parents should talk to teens about distracted driving

June 6th, 2014 8:42 am by Johnson City Press

What will it take to get teenagers to learn texting and driving don't mix? Current efforts to get that message to teen drivers seem to have fallen short.

Comments
Opinion
Drug courts will help curb drug abuse

Drug courts will help curb drug abuse

June 5th, 2014 8:38 am by Johnson City Press

Prescription drug abuse has long been a problem in our region, where painkillers have replaced heroin and cocaine as recreation drugs of choice. It is a problem that costs Tennesseans millions of dollars annually in inflated health care bills and crowded

Comments
Opinion
Casual, inappropriate dress

Casual, inappropriate dress

June 4th, 2014 9:30 am by SHARON RAYE

I recently attended a high school graduation and was shocked at what the people were wearing.

Comments
Opinion
Half-truths help support radical political, economic agendas

Half-truths help support radical political, economic agendas

June 4th, 2014 8:53 am by ROBERT CLAY

Ron McCarley's letter on May 9 vilifying environmentalists of causing millions of deaths by opposing genetically engineered "golden rice" and spraying of DDT is typical of the right-wing's use of half-truths, simplistic treatment of complex issues and out

Comments
Opinion
Do you agree with board's decision on coaches?

Do you agree with board's decision on coaches?

June 4th, 2014 8:50 am by Johnson City Press

The city's Board of Education has voted down a controversial change to its conflict of interest policy that would have barred city school employees from coaching for school systems that Johnson City competes against.

Comments
Opinion
Global warming

Global warming

June 3rd, 2014 11:41 am by DENNIS O'HARE

While America dawdles, even the tiny nation of El Salvador has a government department devoted to climate change issues.

Comments
Opinion
City spending

City spending

June 3rd, 2014 9:30 am by JUNE MILLER GOUGE

I've read the proposed budget cuts and it appears that Legion Street Pool is on the chopping block. Has the city considered what the children who frequent the pool will do this summer? There will be no place for them to swim.

Comments