Johnson City Press Saturday, November 1, 2014
Opinion
Ecotourism benefits environment, economy

Ecotourism benefits environment, economy

June 9th, 2014 9:16 am by Johnson City Press

June has been designated Great Outdoors Month, and we here in Northeast Tennessee have a lot to celebrate.

Comments
Opinion
According to city leaders, the sky is falling

According to city leaders, the sky is falling premium content

June 9th, 2014 9:00 am by FRANK HAWKINS

Here we go again, the city administration is putting out the fleece to convince us taxpayers that we have to have a tax increase or the sky will be falling.

Comments
Opinion
What do you think about Blue Plum?

What do you think about Blue Plum?

June 9th, 2014 8:49 am by Johnson City Press

As we've note earlier, it's no easy undertaking to put on an event like Blue Plum. That's why we are asking readers today to send us your thoughts on the festival. Tell us what you like and dislike about Blue Plum.

Comments
Opinion
Dress appropriately

Dress appropriately

June 6th, 2014 9:45 am by CAROL BOWERS

I am disgusted at the way most people dress these days. I get upset when I see pretty little girls dressed in provocative dresses that are too sexy for children. To me this is very dangerous in this day and time.

Comments
Opinion
Obama doesn't care

Obama doesn't care

June 6th, 2014 9:15 am by CHARLES TRIFILETTI

President Obama promised many times, both as a candidate and as president, that he would deal effectively with the problems in the Department of Veterans Affairs health care system. Unfortunately, by this time we know how much a promise from the current c

Comments
Opinion
Johnson City lacks useful amenities

Johnson City lacks useful amenities

June 6th, 2014 8:45 am by RICHARD ROLLER

Here we go again. We still don't have an animal shelter, only a hint of one. We have no farmers market, only a hint of one. And don't get me started on a seniors' center just for seniors.

Comments
Opinion
Parents should talk to teens about distracted driving

Parents should talk to teens about distracted driving

June 6th, 2014 8:42 am by Johnson City Press

What will it take to get teenagers to learn texting and driving don't mix? Current efforts to get that message to teen drivers seem to have fallen short.

Comments
Opinion
Drug courts will help curb drug abuse

Drug courts will help curb drug abuse

June 5th, 2014 8:38 am by Johnson City Press

Prescription drug abuse has long been a problem in our region, where painkillers have replaced heroin and cocaine as recreation drugs of choice. It is a problem that costs Tennesseans millions of dollars annually in inflated health care bills and crowded

Comments
Opinion
Casual, inappropriate dress

Casual, inappropriate dress

June 4th, 2014 9:30 am by SHARON RAYE

I recently attended a high school graduation and was shocked at what the people were wearing.

Comments
Opinion
Half-truths help support radical political, economic agendas

Half-truths help support radical political, economic agendas

June 4th, 2014 8:53 am by ROBERT CLAY

Ron McCarley's letter on May 9 vilifying environmentalists of causing millions of deaths by opposing genetically engineered "golden rice" and spraying of DDT is typical of the right-wing's use of half-truths, simplistic treatment of complex issues and out

Comments