Johnson City Press Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Opinion
Rice for judge

Rice for judge

March 25th, 2014 11:55 am by DAVID G. SLAGLE

It is with great pleasure that I recommend Lisa Nidiffer Rice to succeed the retiring Judge Robert Cupp, Criminal Court Part 1, 1st Judicial District (Carter, Johnson, Washington and Unicoi Counties).

Comments
Opinion
What are your thoughts on standardized student testing and educator accountability?

What are your thoughts on standardized student testing and educator accountability?

March 24th, 2014 9:36 am by Johnson City Press

Legislation to prevent the results of standardized student test scores from being used in making decisions on renewing a teacher's license is currently being debated in Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
Eclectic dcor still works quite well

Eclectic dcor still works quite well

March 24th, 2014 9:11 am by Bonnie Simmerman

When recently helping our son move into a new place, I was struck by the fact that the majority of his furniture and accessories came from here and there.

Comments
Opinion
Christians have rights, too

Christians have rights, too

March 24th, 2014 9:09 am by Tim Simpson

Christians have rights too!I have been reading and watching on the news for years now, and one current event said something that was enough about a woman placing a cross on the roadside for a lost love one and a group of atheist made her remove it! Am I t

Comments
Opinion
Below-average not quality

Below-average not quality

March 24th, 2014 9:08 am by Reneau Dubberley

It has been well documented that Tennessee's education attainment is below average in the United States.

Comments
Opinion
Tri-Cities: a wonderful place that could use a boost

Tri-Cities: a wonderful place that could use a boost

March 24th, 2014 9:06 am by EDWARD J. DWYER

Our state legislators adamantly refuse to accept $1.4 billion originally destined for Medicaid/TennCare expansion as part of Obamacare.

Comments
Community Voices Opinion
Annexation law needs meaningful overhaul

Annexation law needs meaningful overhaul

March 24th, 2014 8:59 am by Danny Sells

I had the opportunity to attend each of the Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovermental Relations hearings on the many annexation bills last year. These were some of the very best discussions I have experienced.

Comments
Opinion
The Tennessee Office of Open Records Counsel is here to help

The Tennessee Office of Open Records Counsel is here to help

March 24th, 2014 8:54 am by Johnson City Press

Throughout this week, we've stressed the importance of open government. Sunshine Week has been a time to praise the benefits of openness in the public square as a fundamental tool of citizenship.

Comments
Opinion
Commissioner vote

Commissioner vote

March 21st, 2014 8:50 am by JUDY MOSS

Tom Krieger has lived in Washington County for 27 years and has made an indelible mark on our community during that time. He is now a candidate for Washington County Commission in District 6.

Comments
Opinion
Support Tom Krieger

Support Tom Krieger

March 21st, 2014 8:50 am by JANIE LEWIS

I have known Tom Krieger for over 25 years, having had the opportunity to work for him and with him when he came to Johnson City as the president of Fleming Foods (previously Giant Wholesale) in 1987.

Comments