Johnson City Press Friday, November 28, 2014
Opinion
Enough talk: Stoney Creek needs new school

Enough talk: Stoney Creek needs new school

June 11th, 2014 8:37 am by Johnson City Press

The Stoney Creek area of Carter County is in need of a new school. In fact, it's in need of several.

Comments
Opinion
Misleading media

Misleading media

June 10th, 2014 9:45 am by KEN AUER

The media seems to thrive on establishing polarization within our United States. I have written letters previously on this subject. The May 28 edition of this newspaper is another example as to how information is emphasized in a misleading way.

Comments
Opinion
School spending

School spending

June 10th, 2014 9:15 am by RON DAWSON

The Johnson City Board of Education is lobbying for a 20-cent tax increase (12.5 percent). Maybe in their spare time, members of the school board can lobby Washington, D.C., for a similar increase in Social Security payments. After all, seniors are the on

Comments
Opinion
EPA regulations also will bring cleaner air, new jobs

EPA regulations also will bring cleaner air, new jobs

June 10th, 2014 8:41 am by J. CHRIS HENRY

The uproar over new Environmental Protection Agency regulations focused on reducing carbon emission pollutants inevitably provoked indignation and predictions of thousands of jobs lost in the coal industry. Yet neither opponents nor supporters of tougher

Comments
Opinion
Drug abuse prevention

Drug abuse prevention premium content

June 9th, 2014 10:00 am by ROBERT H. KEITER

Thank you for the June 5 editorial on drug abuse and addiction. If prevention is the best medicine, then health education in our schools must address this serious social and health issue.

Comments
Opinion
Do you support new EPA rules?

Do you support new EPA rules?

June 9th, 2014 9:35 am by Johnson City Press

The Environmental Protection Agency unveiled standards last week that will force this country's power plants to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by 30 percent in 16 years.

Comments
Opinion
Fair taxation

Fair taxation premium content

June 9th, 2014 9:30 am by ROBERT GOODHAND

How much time do you spend every year worrying about, managing, accounting for and altering your financial world trying respond to and protecting yourself from the federal taxation system?

Comments
Opinion
Ecotourism benefits environment, economy

Ecotourism benefits environment, economy

June 9th, 2014 9:16 am by Johnson City Press

June has been designated Great Outdoors Month, and we here in Northeast Tennessee have a lot to celebrate.

Comments
Opinion
According to city leaders, the sky is falling

According to city leaders, the sky is falling premium content

June 9th, 2014 9:00 am by FRANK HAWKINS

Here we go again, the city administration is putting out the fleece to convince us taxpayers that we have to have a tax increase or the sky will be falling.

Comments
Opinion
What do you think about Blue Plum?

What do you think about Blue Plum?

June 9th, 2014 8:49 am by Johnson City Press

As we've note earlier, it's no easy undertaking to put on an event like Blue Plum. That's why we are asking readers today to send us your thoughts on the festival. Tell us what you like and dislike about Blue Plum.

Comments