Johnson City Press Monday, July 27, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
Opinion
What do you think about Amazon drone delivery?

What do you think about Amazon drone delivery?

December 9th, 2013 8:50 am by Johnson City Press

It sounds like something seen in a sci-fi movie from the 1980s — “Blade Runner,” perhaps or even more ominous, “The Terminator.” But it’s no movie, or joke.

Comments
Opinion
Moving Bucs basketball to Freedom Hall a win-win

Moving Bucs basketball to Freedom Hall a win-win

December 6th, 2013 11:48 am by Johnson City Press

As Press Sports writer Joe Avento reported last month, East Tennessee State University officials would like to see more basketball games played at Freedom Hall.

Comments
Opinion
Elite football programs

Elite football programs

December 5th, 2013 9:45 am by MARK PONDER

To follow up on Press sports writer Douglas Fritz’s column on Nov. 17 under the headline, “’Toppers still far from elite,” no football program — not just Science Hill High School — will ever be elite without starting up front with a good offense or defens

Comments
Opinion
Van Huss and Stout

Van Huss and Stout

December 5th, 2013 9:45 am by MIKE ALEXANDER

Patriot: One who loves his country and zealously supports its authority and interests.

Comments
Opinion
Our impact on weather

Our impact on weather

December 5th, 2013 9:43 am by DENNIS R. O’HARE

In recent years, the United States has experienced a cluster of extreme and unusual weather events including a derecho, Hurricane Sandy and the tornado outbreak here in East Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
ETSU name change

ETSU name change

December 5th, 2013 9:41 am by TOM EMERY

With the coming of the new football program to East Tennessee State University, I respectfully submit that a name change for the university may be in order.

Comments
Opinion
Decriminalization of drug use, addiction treatment would help most

Decriminalization of drug use, addiction treatment would help most

December 5th, 2013 9:40 am by DR. ANDREW SPITZNAS

I commend the Press for its balanced and informative article on the debate over the legalization of marijuana in Tennessee. As a medical professional and concerned citizen, I do however take issue with some of the statements made by the proponent and oppo

Comments
Opinion
Obtaining, retaining quality teachers should be priority

Obtaining, retaining quality teachers should be priority

December 5th, 2013 9:35 am by Johnson City Press

Recruiting and keeping excellent teachers could well be the biggest challenge school districts in this nation face in the coming years. And it will be particularly vexing a problem for school systems in our region.

Comments
Opinion
Grammar project

Grammar project

December 5th, 2013 9:29 am by COLE BENEDICT

I am a high school student who is trying to finish an Honors English project in which I have to find 66 specific examples of grammar concepts.

Comments
Opinion
USO fundraiser

USO fundraiser

December 5th, 2013 9:26 am by CHANCES VARSON

Today, I received the annual appeal from the United Service Organizations for funds to supply members of our armed services with cellphones so that they may call home during the holidays.

Comments