Johnson City Press Friday, August 22, 2014
Opinion
The people's money

The people's money

May 30th, 2014 10:45 am by LARRY TREADWAY

I have been following the debate concerning the Johnson City Power Board's donation to a performing arts center since it started. I believe that this money belongs to the people who purchase power from this utility.

Comments
Opinion
Customer rebates

Customer rebates

May 30th, 2014 10:00 am by JOHN C. SMITH

To begin with, the Johnson City Power Board's $500,000 donation in 2006 to the East Tennessee State University School of Pharmacy has nothing to do with the Power Board's latest donation decision. That was then, this is now - two totally different scenari

Comments
Opinion
Power Board's mission

Power Board's mission

May 30th, 2014 9:45 am by HAROLD WILSON

In my view asking if the donations the Johnson City Power Board makes support economic development is not the most important question

Comments
Opinion
Help ratepayers first

Help ratepayers first

May 30th, 2014 9:30 am by JIM WILSON

I read recently in the Johnson City Press about the $500,000 donation from the Johnson City Power Board to East Tennessee State University's performing arts center. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income and I feel outraged that the Power Board has that

Comments
Opinion
Lower our rates

Lower our rates

May 30th, 2014 8:55 am by PEGGY ADAMS

My feeling is that if Johnson City Power Board has extra dollars to "donate" to anything, then their customers are paying way too much for power.

Comments
Opinion
Government should review railroad industry regulations

Government should review railroad industry regulations

May 30th, 2014 8:52 am by Johnson City Press

The off-again, on-again railroad overpass project in Erwin is on again. As Press Erwin Bureau Chief Brad Hicks reported recently, the steel needed to construct a portion of the bridge that will go over the railroad tracks crossing Second Street has finall

Comments
Opinion
Go green: Ride bus, lighten load in trunk

Go green: Ride bus, lighten load in trunk

May 29th, 2014 8:43 am by Johnson City Press

The United States is a culture built on self reliance and personal responsibility. In terms of transportation, that means you are on your own.

Comments
Opinion
Re-elect Mabe

Re-elect Mabe

May 27th, 2014 10:30 am by THOMAS J. GREGORY

I urge all county voters to re-elect Clarence Mabe to the Washington County Board of Education.

Comments
Opinion
State should secede

State should secede

May 27th, 2014 10:00 am by RODGER BUTLER

A recent letter writer who opposed Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey's attempt to stop liberal justices has evidently failed to understand the golden rule: He who has the gold makes the rules.

Comments
Opinion
Is spending $5K to send leaders to Japan a good investment?

Is spending $5K to send leaders to Japan a good investment?

May 27th, 2014 9:30 am by Johnson City Press

A delegation from Washington County will soon be racking up some impressive frequent flyer miles in the name of economic development

Comments