Johnson City Press Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Opinion
Public should be notified of government get-togethers

Public should be notified of government get-togethers

May 27th, 2014 8:57 am by Johnson City Press

Kingsport Mayor Dennis Phillips said last week he has rescinded an offer to the Johnson City Commission to break bread privately with his Board of Aldermen at the MeadowView Conference, Resort & Convention Center.

Comments
Opinion
Remember to buckle up, move over on highway

Remember to buckle up, move over on highway

May 27th, 2014 8:43 am by Johnson City Press

A number of Americans will be traveling during this long Memorial Day Weekend.

Comments
Opinion
City management

City management

May 23rd, 2014 9:35 am by RON DECIO

I consider it unacceptable regarding the $1.5 million in delinquent, unpaid traffic citations in Johnson City.

Comments
Opinion
Region should be proud of VA, Mountain Home

Region should be proud of VA, Mountain Home

May 23rd, 2014 8:57 am by VICKI HOWARD

My dad is a World War II veteran, ex-POW and Purple Heart recipient. He is 95 years old and has lived at the nursing facility at Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Mountain Home, for almost two years.

Comments
Opinion
Has America taken casual attire too far?

Has America taken casual attire too far?

May 23rd, 2014 8:55 am by Johnson City Press

This is Friday, and odds are some of your coworkers are dressed a bit more causally today than they might otherwise be.

Comments
Opinion
Helipad project would be good use of county's money

Helipad project would be good use of county's money

May 22nd, 2014 8:46 am by Johnson City Press

Unicoi County officials are correct in wanting to spend a $750,000 windfall from the sale of the Unicoi County Memorial Hospital as wisely as possible. To that extent, we can't think of a more sensible way to use those dollars than to help fund a proposed

Comments
Opinion
Ignored by Johnson City

Ignored by Johnson City

May 21st, 2014 10:00 am by MICHAEL BROSENNE

Is the Johnson City Commission listening? Commissioners have stated they do not like the moratorium on annexation and may have to raise our property taxes.

Comments
Opinion
Court OK'd dark money

Court OK'd dark money

May 21st, 2014 9:30 am by WILLIAM PRENDERGAST

The problem with "dark money" started with the Citizens United ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court.

Comments
Opinion
Kudos to Mountain Home

Kudos to Mountain Home

May 21st, 2014 9:10 am by T.V. TERRY

I know nothing of secret appointment lists and veterans who die while awaiting care, but after many years of receiving medical care from the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Mountain Home, I can attest to the quality of care that I and other family member

Comments
Opinion
Local VA hospital provides great care

Local VA hospital provides great care

May 21st, 2014 8:47 am by DEAN MALONE

I am a veteran of the U.S. Navy and have been a patient at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Mountain Home, since 2003. I have never been back-logged in any manner and have been treated in an excellent manner since my first visit to the facility.

Comments