Johnson City Press Thursday, April 24, 2014
Opinion
Should Tennessee teacher raises be put on hold?

Should Tennessee teacher raises be put on hold?

April 7th, 2014 9:57 am by Johnson City Press

Earlier this year, Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam promised teachers and state employees a pay raise in the new budget year. Haslam announced last week those pay hikes would have to wait at least another year.

Comments
Opinion
Vouchers aren't a fix

Vouchers aren't a fix

April 7th, 2014 9:45 am by CINDI HUSS

Article XI, section 12 of the Tennessee Constitution says, "The state of Tennessee recognizes the inherent value of education and encourages its support.

Comments
Opinion
Why are our public schools failing? Let's fix our schools

Why are our public schools failing? Let's fix our schools

April 7th, 2014 9:26 am by RALPH JOHNSTON

Taxpayer-funded vouchers are being considered for students attending failing Tennessee public schools. Why are there any failing Tennessee public schools?

Comments
Opinion
Local governments under siege by state

Local governments under siege by state

April 7th, 2014 9:20 am by Johnson City Press

The last days of the Tennessee General Assembly often produce bad laws for local government. This year is no exception.

Comments
Opinion
Take the time to properly dispose of hazardous waste

Take the time to properly dispose of hazardous waste

April 7th, 2014 9:03 am by Johnson City Press

There are things found in many homes that should never be dumped in a landfill.

Comments
Opinion
Vote for Rutherford

Vote for Rutherford

April 4th, 2014 4:45 pm by FRANK BOLUS

This letter is to inform the people about Mike Rutherford, who is running for mayor of Washington County.

Comments
Opinion
Support McAllister

Support McAllister

April 4th, 2014 4:30 pm by JEFF BANYAS

To the voters of Washington County, I would ask you to please vote for Retired Col. Gary McAllister.

Comments
Opinion
Elect Rice as judge

Elect Rice as judge

April 4th, 2014 4:15 pm by JAN HENDREN BRADLEY

It is my honor and pleasure to support and endorse Lisa Nidiffer Rice for Criminal Court Judge Part 1, 1st Judicial District.

Comments
Opinion
Religious balderdash

Religious balderdash

April 4th, 2014 4:00 pm by ROBERT CLAY

Boy, any time I forget how loony the right is these days, all I have to do is read a Dennis Prager column.

Comments
Opinion
Why would anyone smart risk a head injury or death?

Why would anyone smart risk a head injury or death?

April 4th, 2014 3:41 pm by BARRY L. SIMMONS

You ask, should wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle be optional for adults in Tennessee? As a motorcyclist with 40-plus years of riding experience, the answer is: "Absolutely no."

Comments