Johnson City Press Saturday, August 1, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
Opinion
Good job, carriers

Good job, carriers

February 3rd, 2014 9:04 am by KATRINA ARCHBOLD

This recent weather has given me a case of cabin fever. I look forward to my morning newspaper.

Comments
Opinion
Tennessee voters elected these representatives

Tennessee voters elected these representatives

February 3rd, 2014 9:04 am by RANDY TAYLOR

This letter is in response to Robert Houk’s column on Jan. 26. I could care less about what the American Civil Liberties Union is doing.

Comments
Opinion
How much faith can you put in a forecasting rodent?

How much faith can you put in a forecasting rodent?

February 3rd, 2014 9:02 am by Johnson City Press

Today is Groundhog Day, and it’s a safe bet many area residents who are tired of the bitter cold and snow we saw in January are hoping for a cloudy morning.

Comments
Columns Opinion
Robert Houk

Gov. Haslam leading assault on state public education

February 3rd, 2014 8:58 am by Robert Houk

Public schools are under siege in this country, and Tennessee is one of the key battleground states.

Comments
Opinion
Road rules: What to do in funeral procession

Road rules: What to do in funeral procession

February 3rd, 2014 8:51 am by Johnson City Press

Driver Education 101: What a motorist should do when encountering a funeral procession.

Comments
Opinion
Towing costs in Johnson City

Towing costs in Johnson City

January 31st, 2014 8:57 am by ERIN “LUCY” WARDS

I am an owner of a local towing company based here in Johnson City. I understand having an accident can be frustrating on its own, however, you must understand a few things before you go to making accusations caused by incorrect answers by an assistant wi

Comments
Opinion
County-Owned Property Committee should know the budget process

County-Owned Property Committee should know the budget process

January 31st, 2014 8:55 am by LOIS RASNAKE

Regarding the Jan. 28 article concerning the County-Owned Property Committee: I know when all committees meet. I get my information from the Press on Mondays, or I look at the Washington County website.

Comments
Opinion
Guns in local parks? General Assembly wants to take away local decision

Guns in local parks? General Assembly wants to take away local decision

January 31st, 2014 8:53 am by Johnson City Press

Johnson City commissioners voted in 2009 to continue a ban on guns in city parks.

Comments
Opinion
ACA is law, let’s move on and help Tennessee

ACA is law, let’s move on and help Tennessee

January 30th, 2014 9:55 am by JENNIFER HELTON HANN

I read with dismay Lt. Gov. Ramsey’s claim in his Insight column on Jan. 19 that gone were the days of defending against “an onslaught of bad Democratic legislation.”

Comments
Opinion
We can’t ignore reliable, affordable energy source

We can’t ignore reliable, affordable energy source

January 30th, 2014 9:53 am by Johnson City Press

This month’s bitter cold temperatures have resulted in power suppliers to the region, including the Tennessee Valley Authority, calling on customers to engage in voluntary conservation efforts.

Comments