Johnson City Press Saturday, March 28, 2015
Opinion
Give the gift of life by being an organ donor

Give the gift of life by being an organ donor

December 16th, 2013 9:07 am by Johnson City Press

You can give the gift of life this Christmas by agreeing to become an organ or tissue donor.

Comments
Opinion
Should Johnson City allow guns in parks?

Should Johnson City allow guns in parks?

December 16th, 2013 9:00 am by Johnson City Press

Press staff writer Jennifer Sprouse reported last week that Johnson City Mayor Ralph Van Brocklin doesn’t like the idea of the city lifting a ban on guns inside its municipal parks

Comments
Opinion
Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus

Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus

December 16th, 2013 8:55 am by Johnson City Press

This is the time of the year when many newspapers publish letters to Santa written by children who believe jolly old St. Nick will answer their requests.

Comments
Opinion
Pets require responsibility, lengthy commitment

Pets require responsibility, lengthy commitment

December 13th, 2013 10:56 am by Johnson City Press

No doubt there are children asking for a puppy or kitten this Christmas. Parents should know there are number of things they should consider before rushing out to get a pet for their child.

Comments
Opinion
Protect water pipes from winter freeze

Protect water pipes from winter freeze

December 12th, 2013 11:15 am by Johnson City Press

Although winter does not officially arrive until next week, the frigid temperatures of the past few mornings remind us that this is the season to bundle up. And we are not just talking about putting on a heavy coat and gloves

Comments
Opinion
Lazy politicians

Lazy politicians

December 11th, 2013 11:30 am by MARTHA S. CULP

If both (political) parties remove all the people on their payrolls who are doing no work, our national debt will shrink.

Comments
Opinion
Law for all

Law for all

December 11th, 2013 11:00 am by JAY C. WHEELER

Politicians have become very personal. They say you can keep your old husband, old wife, old girlfriend, old car, the dog if you have one, but your old health insurance policy has got to go.

Comments
Opinion
PC, ACA and USA

PC, ACA and USA

December 11th, 2013 10:30 am by ALLEN BRINEGAR

After reading letters on Dec. 10, I had to go back and read Dennis Prager’s column again. To the two people who wrote calling Prager a liar and a bigot, I have to ask: “What?”

Comments
Opinion
News about VA facility

News about VA facility

December 11th, 2013 10:00 am by COLETTE KERNS

I have been buying the Johnson City Press for over 40 years. A good newspaper keeps us informed and preserves our freedom.

Comments
Opinion
Still complaining

Still complaining

December 11th, 2013 9:30 am by KENNETH T. FORTUNE

Kenneth Gough thinks people who want and sign up for insurance through the Affordable Care Act are “useful idiots” because they are responsible and want health insurance for themselves and their families.

Comments