Johnson City Press Saturday, November 22, 2014
Opinion
Grassy knoll shooter

Grassy knoll shooter

November 22nd, 2013 4:42 pm by Staff Report

It appears to me that Lee Harvey Oswald was not the only gunman to shoot President Kennedy.

Comments
Opinion
Take steps to avoid extra holiday bulge

Take steps to avoid extra holiday bulge

November 22nd, 2013 4:40 pm by Staff Report

Thanksgiving, now less than a week away, marks the beginning of a holiday weight gain for many Americans.

Comments
Opinion
Tennessee should work on better driver’s education

Tennessee should work on better driver’s education

November 21st, 2013 8:43 am by Staff Report

We send our best wishes to East Tennessee State University President Brian Noland for a speedy recovery from the injuries he sustained in a car accident earlier this week.

Comments
Opinion
Polar bear numbers

Polar bear numbers

November 18th, 2013 10:00 am by RON McCARLEY

In 2008, the polar bear was the first animal listed as “threatened” based upon projected global warming, even though its population has almost tripled in the last 50 years.

Comments
Opinion
Winston Churchill’s wisdom still valuable today

Winston Churchill’s wisdom still valuable today

November 18th, 2013 9:30 am by COLIN BAXTER

In a time of divisiveness within our country and fragmented world, it was heartwarming to see both Democrats and Republicans come together to install a bust of Sir Winston Churchill in the U.S. Capitol

Comments
Opinion
Do you think Oswald acted alone in JFK assassination?

Do you think Oswald acted alone in JFK assassination?

November 18th, 2013 9:08 am by Johnson City Press

Friday will mark the 50th anniversary of the assassination of John F. Kennedy. A special commemoration service will be held in Dallas, including a moment of silence at 12:30 p.m. — the actual time JFK was shot.

Comments
Opinion
Protect more drivers by requiring senior testing

Protect more drivers by requiring senior testing

November 18th, 2013 8:58 am by Johnson City Press

As we’ve noted in this space before, senior drivers are usually involved in fewer accidents than teenagers. Even so, experts argue those statistics don’t tell the entire story.

Comments
Opinion
‘Stupidity is forever’

‘Stupidity is forever’

November 15th, 2013 10:30 am by Staff Report

I usually read the columns of Dennis Prager and Tina Dupuy and feel they are worthwhile, but the two that appeared on Nov. 2 left me flabbergasted.

Comments
Opinion
Lack of reason

Lack of reason

November 15th, 2013 9:37 am by Staff Report

In Thomas Sowell’s column of Nov. 10, he argues against the Affordable Care Act because it supports preventive medicine in including payment for annual check-ups.

Comments
Opinion
Cover your load before hitting road

Cover your load before hitting road

November 15th, 2013 9:35 am by Staff Report

As we’ve noted before, it’s become common to see cardboard, brush and garbage blown or jostled from the bed of a moving truck.

Comments