Johnson City Press Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Opinion
Van Huss and Stout

Van Huss and Stout

December 5th, 2013 9:45 am by MIKE ALEXANDER

Patriot: One who loves his country and zealously supports its authority and interests.

Comments
Opinion
Our impact on weather

Our impact on weather

December 5th, 2013 9:43 am by DENNIS R. O’HARE

In recent years, the United States has experienced a cluster of extreme and unusual weather events including a derecho, Hurricane Sandy and the tornado outbreak here in East Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
ETSU name change

ETSU name change

December 5th, 2013 9:41 am by TOM EMERY

With the coming of the new football program to East Tennessee State University, I respectfully submit that a name change for the university may be in order.

Comments
Opinion
Decriminalization of drug use, addiction treatment would help most

Decriminalization of drug use, addiction treatment would help most

December 5th, 2013 9:40 am by DR. ANDREW SPITZNAS

I commend the Press for its balanced and informative article on the debate over the legalization of marijuana in Tennessee. As a medical professional and concerned citizen, I do however take issue with some of the statements made by the proponent and oppo

Comments
Opinion
Obtaining, retaining quality teachers should be priority

Obtaining, retaining quality teachers should be priority

December 5th, 2013 9:35 am by Johnson City Press

Recruiting and keeping excellent teachers could well be the biggest challenge school districts in this nation face in the coming years. And it will be particularly vexing a problem for school systems in our region.

Comments
Opinion
Grammar project

Grammar project

December 5th, 2013 9:29 am by COLE BENEDICT

I am a high school student who is trying to finish an Honors English project in which I have to find 66 specific examples of grammar concepts.

Comments
Opinion
USO fundraiser

USO fundraiser

December 5th, 2013 9:26 am by CHANCES VARSON

Today, I received the annual appeal from the United Service Organizations for funds to supply members of our armed services with cellphones so that they may call home during the holidays.

Comments
Opinion
Danish ‘goodies’

Danish ‘goodies’

December 5th, 2013 9:25 am by KEN AUER

This is in reference to a column on the Insight page Nov. 17 that was written by a retired language arts teacher. As a retired businessman, I was so impressed with her description of the good life in Denmark that I was getting ready to pack my bags and em

Comments
Opinion
Since several stomp on progress, entire country is falling behind

Since several stomp on progress, entire country is falling behind

December 5th, 2013 9:23 am by LAURA MORIN

As an observer of history, our country is in real trouble

Comments
Opinion
Pet overpopulation makes no-kill idea a utopian dream

Pet overpopulation makes no-kill idea a utopian dream

December 5th, 2013 8:53 am by Johnson City Press

There is a local group pushing for a “no-kill” shelter in Johnson City. As Press staff writer Tony Casey reported last month, the organization is asking the Johnson City/Washington County Animal Control Board to make the new shelter one that doesn’t kill

Comments