Johnson City Press Friday, July 31, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
Opinion
Income inequality

Income inequality

February 5th, 2014 8:58 am by A.G. JONES

I appreciate that the Press endeavors to publish a balanced mix of political viewpoints, but do we really need more hollow clichés like Ann McFeatters’ column (Jan. 30) on income inequality?

Comments
Opinion
Lavish spending

Lavish spending

February 5th, 2014 8:57 am by CANDY CASEY

I have some suggestions that I think all of us Americans could agree on.

Comments
Opinion
Minimum wage hike

Minimum wage hike

February 5th, 2014 8:56 am by JONATHAN LINK

President Obama wants to raise the minimum wage to $10.10 an hour from the current $7.25 an hour for entry-level workers. Sounds great, right?

Comments
Opinion
What did last study show; is property price making progress tough?

What did last study show; is property price making progress tough?

February 5th, 2014 8:55 am by KATHY SERAGO

At the last Johnson City Regional Planning Commission meeting, members of the board said there was an extensive study done around 10 years ago and another study is not needed. Have they looked at that last study?

Comments
Opinion
American Heart Month: take care of yourself

American Heart Month: take care of yourself

February 5th, 2014 8:53 am by Johnson City Press

It’s fitting that February, the month known for sending Valentine’s Day candy to loved ones in heart-shaped boxes, is also American Heart Month.

Comments
Opinion
Problems of everyday Americans are invisible to our state leaders

Problems of everyday Americans are invisible to our state leaders

February 4th, 2014 8:55 am by COLIN BAXTER

After reading the contributions of House Speaker Beth Harwell and Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey that appeared in the Johnson City Press on Jan. 19, I was reminded of what Ronald Reagan once said to his opponent in a presidential debate, “Well, there you go again!”

Comments
Opinion
Where’s the logic?

Where’s the logic?

February 4th, 2014 8:54 am by TIM SIMPSON

When is enough, enough? Back when alcohol was illegal it was still being sold, albeit illegally.

Comments
Opinion
Walnut Street study

Walnut Street study

February 4th, 2014 8:52 am by JON HATCHER

Johnson City definitely needs to have a corridor study completed in order to ensure the best use for the General Mills property.

Comments
Opinion
Should minimum wage be raised?

Should minimum wage be raised?

February 3rd, 2014 11:49 am by Johnson City Press

During his State of the Union address last week, President Barack Obama said he plans to raise the minimum wage for workers under federal contracts to $10.10 per hour.

Comments
Opinion
Risky report

Risky report

February 3rd, 2014 9:05 am by LINCOLN HIGGINS

I was amazed at the article on the front page of your paper on Jan. 24 showing a woman holding a can of Van Camp’s Pork and Beans in one hand and, supposedly, a worm or fly larva in the other claiming that she found the worms when she opened the can.

Comments