Johnson City Press Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Opinion
Feed, watch the birds

Feed, watch the birds

November 13th, 2013 11:00 am by Staff Report

I am writing because I would like to encourage everyone in the Tri-Cities to participate in this winter’s Project FeederWatch.

Comments
Opinion
Natural gas service

Natural gas service

November 13th, 2013 10:00 am by Staff Report

Almost every day you pick up your paper only to read about millions of our tax dollars squandered on yet another “alternative energy” company gone bust.

Comments
Opinion
Regular Joes in politics

Regular Joes in politics

November 13th, 2013 10:00 am by Staff Report

When the government is shut down, why do politicians still get paid?

Comments
Opinion
Libertarians need to vote Republican

Libertarians need to vote Republican

November 13th, 2013 9:30 am by Staff Report

It is time for libertarians (I am one myself) to come to grips with reality.

Comments
Opinion
City must weigh in on history vs. progress debate

City must weigh in on history vs. progress debate

November 13th, 2013 8:52 am by Staff Report

Three popular idioms come to mind with the news that two long-time landmarks on West Walnut Street — the General Mills plant and Mize Farm & Garden Center — may soon be gone to make room for a major residential development.

Comments
Opinion
Sullivan Central students are our Unsung Heroes

Sullivan Central students are our Unsung Heroes

November 11th, 2013 2:35 pm by Staff Report

Students at Sullivan Central High School know how to lend more than a helping hand to a classmate.

Comments
Opinion
Praise for Pioneers

Praise for Pioneers

November 11th, 2013 1:00 pm by Staff Report

Douglas Fritz wrote a high school playoff preview on Nov. 3. In it, he fails to congratulate David Crockett High School for making the playoffs for the first time in years.

Comments
Opinion
Lakeview 4-way stop

Lakeview 4-way stop

November 11th, 2013 12:00 pm by Staff Report

Lakeview Drive residents, are you tired of waiting on traffic on Mountcastle Drive?

Comments
Opinion
Monetary base

Monetary base

November 11th, 2013 11:30 am by Staff Report

As a retired economics professor, I try to keep up with what is happening in the world of finance. One item that especially interests me is the monetary base.

Comments
Opinion
How do you plan to honor veterans on this day?

How do you plan to honor veterans on this day?

November 11th, 2013 11:16 am by Staff Report

Our question today is a simple one: How should Americans go about thanking our veterans?

Comments