Johnson City Press Sunday, July 5, 2015
Opinion
Problems of everyday Americans are invisible to our state leaders

Problems of everyday Americans are invisible to our state leaders

February 4th, 2014 8:55 am by COLIN BAXTER

After reading the contributions of House Speaker Beth Harwell and Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey that appeared in the Johnson City Press on Jan. 19, I was reminded of what Ronald Reagan once said to his opponent in a presidential debate, “Well, there you go again!”

Comments
Opinion
Where’s the logic?

Where’s the logic?

February 4th, 2014 8:54 am by TIM SIMPSON

When is enough, enough? Back when alcohol was illegal it was still being sold, albeit illegally.

Comments
Opinion
Walnut Street study

Walnut Street study

February 4th, 2014 8:52 am by JON HATCHER

Johnson City definitely needs to have a corridor study completed in order to ensure the best use for the General Mills property.

Comments
Opinion
Should minimum wage be raised?

Should minimum wage be raised?

February 3rd, 2014 11:49 am by Johnson City Press

During his State of the Union address last week, President Barack Obama said he plans to raise the minimum wage for workers under federal contracts to $10.10 per hour.

Comments
Opinion
Risky report

Risky report

February 3rd, 2014 9:05 am by LINCOLN HIGGINS

I was amazed at the article on the front page of your paper on Jan. 24 showing a woman holding a can of Van Camp’s Pork and Beans in one hand and, supposedly, a worm or fly larva in the other claiming that she found the worms when she opened the can.

Comments
Opinion
Good job, carriers

Good job, carriers

February 3rd, 2014 9:04 am by KATRINA ARCHBOLD

This recent weather has given me a case of cabin fever. I look forward to my morning newspaper.

Comments
Opinion
Tennessee voters elected these representatives

Tennessee voters elected these representatives

February 3rd, 2014 9:04 am by RANDY TAYLOR

This letter is in response to Robert Houk’s column on Jan. 26. I could care less about what the American Civil Liberties Union is doing.

Comments
Opinion
How much faith can you put in a forecasting rodent?

How much faith can you put in a forecasting rodent?

February 3rd, 2014 9:02 am by Johnson City Press

Today is Groundhog Day, and it’s a safe bet many area residents who are tired of the bitter cold and snow we saw in January are hoping for a cloudy morning.

Comments
Columns Opinion
Robert Houk

Gov. Haslam leading assault on state public education

February 3rd, 2014 8:58 am by Robert Houk

Public schools are under siege in this country, and Tennessee is one of the key battleground states.

Comments
Opinion
Road rules: What to do in funeral procession

Road rules: What to do in funeral procession

February 3rd, 2014 8:51 am by Johnson City Press

Driver Education 101: What a motorist should do when encountering a funeral procession.

Comments