Johnson City Press Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Opinion
Congress shouldn't 'kick the can' on highway funding

Congress shouldn't 'kick the can' on highway funding

May 7th, 2015 12:42 pm by Johnson City Press

It appears another short-term remedy is in the works on Capitol Hill. That's bad news for states, which have been forced to compensate for dwindling federal highway funds, especially in Tennessee.

Comments
Business & Technology Opinion Health
Sound Off: What are your questions about the Mountain States/Wellmont merger?

Sound Off: What are your questions about the Mountain States/Wellmont merger?

May 4th, 2015 2:28 pm by Johnson City Press

State officials will be able to hear from citizens who might have concerns and reservations about the merger. It will be the unenviable duty of the two systems to inform and educate the public about the deal.

Comments
Opinion
Showing a pet love takes more than a pat on the head

Showing a pet love takes more than a pat on the head

May 4th, 2015 11:59 am by Johnson City Press

Pet owners should have their dogs and cats vaccinated against rabies.

Comments
Columns As I See It Opinion
Same-sex marriage case to yield landmark decision

Same-sex marriage case to yield landmark decision

May 4th, 2015 11:38 am by Robert Houk

The question remains: How does Jack and Joe, or Lisa and Kim getting hitched damage my own marriage of 23 years?

Comments
Opinion
Should Tennessee fines for driving without insurance be hiked?

Should Tennessee fines for driving without insurance be hiked?

May 4th, 2015 11:21 am by Johnson City Press

A 2014 Insurance Research Council study (based on 2012 figures) found Tennessee has the sixth-highest uninsured motorist rate in the nation at 20.1 percent of all drivers.

Comments
Outdoors Opinion Erwin Mountain City
Adventures are available here in Northeast Tennessee

Adventures are available here in Northeast Tennessee

May 1st, 2015 10:52 am by Johnson City Press

We have the Appalachian Trail, trophy trout streams, pristine lakes and rivers and magnificent mountain views - all unspoiled by overpopulation, development and pollution.

Comments
Education Opinion Washington County
Taxpayers in Johnson City will bear the cost of school litigation

Taxpayers in Johnson City will bear the cost of school litigation

April 30th, 2015 9:26 am by Johnson City Press

Yes, county schools should be paid what they are owed under state law, but not one penny more from city taxpayers.

Comments
Opinion Washington County
As We See It: Washington County Commission wisely moves to reduce its ranks

As We See It: Washington County Commission wisely moves to reduce its ranks

April 30th, 2015 9:13 am by Johnson City Press

There are now 25 members of the board who get paid a monthly salary of $375 for their public service. That represents an annual cost of $112,500 to county taxpayers

Comments
Opinion
Dispose of prescription drugs in a responsible manner

Dispose of prescription drugs in a responsible manner

April 27th, 2015 11:31 am by Johnson City Press

Most people who abuse addictive prescription painkillers get them for free from friends or relatives.

Comments
Opinion
As We See It: A parking garage, not meters, is needed downtown

As We See It: A parking garage, not meters, is needed downtown

April 27th, 2015 11:22 am by Johnson City Press

The fact that parking is becoming a problem downtown speaks positively of the redevelopment going on in the area. That's the good news.

Comments