Johnson City Press Friday, April 17, 2015
Columns As I See It Opinion
Lawmakers could soon be packing heat on Capitol Hill

Lawmakers could soon be packing heat on Capitol Hill

April 6th, 2015 9:21 am by Robert Houk

With the National Rifle Association gathering in Nashville this week, Tennessee legislators went all out to make conventioneers feel welcomed.

Comments
Business & Technology Opinion
Sound off: Is a Wellmont, MSHA merger good for the region?

Sound off: Is a Wellmont, MSHA merger good for the region?

April 2nd, 2015 8:57 am by Johnson City Press

Tell us what you think.

Comments
Opinion
Sound Off! Gender equality for pay is behind the times

Sound Off! Gender equality for pay is behind the times

March 30th, 2015 11:59 am by Johnson City Press

In general, women who work full time, year-round make 77 cents for every dollar men earn.

Comments
Columns As I See It Opinion
Grassroots help to revive health plan

Grassroots help to revive health plan

March 30th, 2015 9:09 am by Robert Houk

Many of these campaigners are not connected to the Internet and have poor cellphone service, so they do things the old-fashioned way - they go door-to-door and talk to their neighbors.

Comments
Opinion
Should medical marijuana be legal in Tennessee?

Should medical marijuana be legal in Tennessee?

March 30th, 2015 8:41 am by Johnson City Press

Supporters of medical marijuana say it can be an effective and safe treatment for the symptoms of cancer, AIDS, multiple sclerosis and glaucoma. Opponents to legalizing medical marijuana, however, say various legal drugs are already available to treat pai

Comments
Columns Community Voices Opinion
State lawmakers are the true takers' in Nashville

State lawmakers are the true takers' in Nashville

March 23rd, 2015 4:54 pm by Jennie Young, Guest Columnist

With the governor, the state's hospital groups and almost two-thirds of the state's population on our side, we're a sorry lot if we can't send them back for a do-over.

Comments
Opinion
'Dark money' remains a problem in state elections

'Dark money' remains a problem in state elections

March 23rd, 2015 4:32 pm by Johnson City Press

Just how much dark money was spread around in November's state elections is unknown.

Comments
Columns As I See It Opinion
Divisions are growing inside the GOP ranks

Divisions are growing inside the GOP ranks

March 23rd, 2015 4:21 pm by Robert Houk

Legitimate issues that impact the daily lives of most Tennesseans get lost in the noise of partisanship and ideology.

Comments
Crime Opinion
Should Tennessee counties pursue regional jails?

Should Tennessee counties pursue regional jails?

March 23rd, 2015 3:58 pm by Johnson City Press

The state comptroller's office released a report in 2006 suggesting counties in Tennessee could save money by operating regional jails.

Comments
Opinion
Sunshine is needed for open government

Sunshine is needed for open government

March 18th, 2015 2:18 pm by Johnson City Press

Sadly, there are some in our government who still seek to block the illuminating rays of public scrutiny.

Comments