Johnson City Press Sunday, April 20, 2014
Opinion
Graybeal is competent, serves county well

Graybeal is competent, serves county well

April 14th, 2014 2:05 pm by Johnson City Press

To say Washington County Sheriff Ed Graybeal has had a long and distinguished career in law enforcement would be an understatement. During his more than 30 years in the profession, he has demonstrated dedication, compassion and a joyful tenacity in doing

Comments
Opinion
Do your part to maintain our beautiful region

Do your part to maintain our beautiful region

April 14th, 2014 10:09 am by Johnson City Press

This is the month we celebrate Earth Day (April 22). April is also a month packed with activities linked to the Great American Cleanup and National Arbor Day celebrations.

Comments
Opinion
Raises a priority

Raises a priority

April 11th, 2014 11:30 am by McDANIEL SAMS

I am expressing my thoughts concerning pay raises for teachers and state employees. I fully understand Gov. Bill Haslam's predicament in dealing with the budget. This can be a daunting task.

Comments
Opinion
Vote Tom, Tom and Joe

Vote Tom, Tom and Joe

April 11th, 2014 11:00 am by JOHN PAUL NEAS

I would like to encourage the voters in and around Jonesborough to look very carefully at the five candidates for County Commission on the ballot this year.

Comments
Opinion
Three-year vaccine

Three-year vaccine

April 11th, 2014 10:30 am by CINDY HINTZ

The "As We See It" column April 4 discussed the reasons to vaccinate your pets against the deadly disease of rabies.

Comments
Opinion
Energy propaganda

Energy propaganda

April 11th, 2014 10:00 am by DENNIS O'HARE

Much of the syndicated column material presented here is mostly harmless drivel and pablum peppered with some not-so-benign propaganda, fiction and disinformation.

Comments
Opinion
Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion

Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion

April 11th, 2014 9:25 am by DEBORAH ROYALTY

Gov. Bill Haslam's refusal to expand Medicaid and his requests for a special arrangement for Tennessee under the Affordable Care Act is an indulgent political ploy that is undermining our state.

Comments
Opinion
Steps to keep bears from visiting your back yard

Steps to keep bears from visiting your back yard

April 11th, 2014 9:23 am by Johnson City Press

A large black bear has been spotted rummaging for food in a neighborhood near Johnson City's Woodland Elementary School.

Comments
Opinion
Support WETS public radio during spring fundraiser

Support WETS public radio during spring fundraiser

April 10th, 2014 9:46 am by Johnson City Press

As we've said at this time of year many times before: Public radio may be free, but the programming heard on WETS-FM is not. That's why WETS needs your support. On Wednesday, the station kicked off its spring fundraiser.

Comments
Opinion
Teacher evaluation

Teacher evaluation

April 9th, 2014 10:30 am by MARTIN HARRIS

Back when most of us, your readers, attended public schools, we students learned the 26 symbols of the English language and the 10 symbols of Western math.

Comments