Johnson City Press Friday, April 18, 2014
Opinion
Energy propaganda

Energy propaganda

April 11th, 2014 10:00 am by DENNIS O'HARE

Much of the syndicated column material presented here is mostly harmless drivel and pablum peppered with some not-so-benign propaganda, fiction and disinformation.

Comments
Opinion
Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion

Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion

April 11th, 2014 9:25 am by DEBORAH ROYALTY

Gov. Bill Haslam's refusal to expand Medicaid and his requests for a special arrangement for Tennessee under the Affordable Care Act is an indulgent political ploy that is undermining our state.

Comments
Opinion
Steps to keep bears from visiting your back yard

Steps to keep bears from visiting your back yard

April 11th, 2014 9:23 am by Johnson City Press

A large black bear has been spotted rummaging for food in a neighborhood near Johnson City's Woodland Elementary School.

Comments
Opinion
Support WETS public radio during spring fundraiser

Support WETS public radio during spring fundraiser

April 10th, 2014 9:46 am by Johnson City Press

As we've said at this time of year many times before: Public radio may be free, but the programming heard on WETS-FM is not. That's why WETS needs your support. On Wednesday, the station kicked off its spring fundraiser.

Comments
Opinion
Teacher evaluation

Teacher evaluation

April 9th, 2014 10:30 am by MARTIN HARRIS

Back when most of us, your readers, attended public schools, we students learned the 26 symbols of the English language and the 10 symbols of Western math.

Comments
Opinion
America's tax rates

America's tax rates

April 9th, 2014 10:00 am by WILLIAM KAUFFMAN

If you read the news you can come to some interesting conclusions.

Comments
Opinion
God-fearing leaders

God-fearing leaders

April 9th, 2014 10:00 am by S.K. TAYLOR

We need leaders who are God fearing in our city and county.

Comments
Opinion
Good candidates

Good candidates

April 9th, 2014 9:30 am by DONA LEWIS

It pleases me that we have three very good men running for the Washington County Commission in the Jonesborough area this year.

Comments
Opinion
Vote for change

Vote for change

April 9th, 2014 9:15 am by ELIZABETH CALLIHAM

I am not writing this letter to smear anyone. I do not personally know any of the current Washington County commissioners, or those running against them.

Comments
Opinion
End commission's perks

End commission's perks

April 9th, 2014 8:41 am by GEORGE R. BECKER

It's time to end health care perks for Washington County commissioners. There has been $407,376 spent since September 2011 for these benefits.

Comments