Johnson City Press Friday, August 1, 2014
Opinion
Get to the polls and vote today

Get to the polls and vote today

May 6th, 2014 8:49 am by Johnson City Press

Today is Election Day, which means voters finally have their say in Republican primaries for a number of county offices. Polls open in Washington County at 8 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.

Comments
Opinion
No background

No background

May 5th, 2014 12:00 pm by TONI KAY THOMPSON

I voted for President Obama in 2008 and again in 2012. What a farce. This man has neither any knowledge of foreign affairs, nor any knowledge about national affairs.

Comments
Opinion
Weapons and power

Weapons and power

May 5th, 2014 11:00 am by CHARLES TRIFILETTI

The nation of Ukraine and the state of Nevada have nothing in common, other than being featured subjects in the news this week.

Comments
Opinion
Should counties be forced to pay more for autopsies?

Should counties be forced to pay more for autopsies?

May 5th, 2014 10:33 am by Johnson City Press

County officials in Northeast Tennessee have been handed yet another budget headache courtesy of the state and federal governments.

Comments
Opinion
Donate to fire department

Donate to fire department

May 5th, 2014 10:30 am by BILL GWALTNEY

The West Carter County Volunteer Fire Department has begun mailing out our spring fundraising envelopes. The WCCVFD offers skilled service to the residents of our area with state-certified firefighters and professional equipment.

Comments
Opinion
Thank our teachers for giving so much to educate our children

Thank our teachers for giving so much to educate our children

May 5th, 2014 9:59 am by RICHARD W. BALES

It is with great pleasure that I share with our community the value our Johnson City Schools' educators contribute to the success of our school district.

Comments
Opinion
Will law aimed at helping babies cause more harm?

Will law aimed at helping babies cause more harm?

May 5th, 2014 9:55 am by Johnson City Press

Gov. Bill Haslam signed legislation into law last week making Tennessee the first state in the nation to punish women for delivering drug-addicted babies.

Comments
News Photos Opinion
Driving 101: how to navigate roundabouts

Driving 101: how to navigate roundabouts

May 5th, 2014 9:39 am by Johnson City Press

Today we offer another lesson from Driver's Education 101: Navigating roundabouts.

Comments
Opinion
Fresh commissioners

Fresh commissioners

May 2nd, 2014 10:30 am by PAT COSTELLO

Yoo-hoo - fellow registered voters of Washington County. Now is your chance. I have already exercised my blessed American right to vote, and have voted, because I continue daily to be appalled and shocked at what is and for that matter, what also is not g

Comments
Opinion
Expenses in line?

Expenses in line?

May 2nd, 2014 10:00 am by TERESA G. DEAKINS

I noticed that Roger Nave recently said in the Johnson City Press that, in reference to his role as a Washington County commissioner, "We held the line on expenses."That's funny. In the March meeting Nave voted for commissioners to keep their taxpayer-fun

Comments