Johnson City Press Thursday, July 24, 2014
Opinion
Donate to fire department

Donate to fire department

May 5th, 2014 10:30 am by BILL GWALTNEY

The West Carter County Volunteer Fire Department has begun mailing out our spring fundraising envelopes. The WCCVFD offers skilled service to the residents of our area with state-certified firefighters and professional equipment.

Comments
Opinion
Thank our teachers for giving so much to educate our children

Thank our teachers for giving so much to educate our children

May 5th, 2014 9:59 am by RICHARD W. BALES

It is with great pleasure that I share with our community the value our Johnson City Schools' educators contribute to the success of our school district.

Comments
Opinion
Will law aimed at helping babies cause more harm?

Will law aimed at helping babies cause more harm?

May 5th, 2014 9:55 am by Johnson City Press

Gov. Bill Haslam signed legislation into law last week making Tennessee the first state in the nation to punish women for delivering drug-addicted babies.

Comments
News Photos Opinion
Driving 101: how to navigate roundabouts

Driving 101: how to navigate roundabouts

May 5th, 2014 9:39 am by Johnson City Press

Today we offer another lesson from Driver's Education 101: Navigating roundabouts.

Comments
Opinion
Fresh commissioners

Fresh commissioners

May 2nd, 2014 10:30 am by PAT COSTELLO

Yoo-hoo - fellow registered voters of Washington County. Now is your chance. I have already exercised my blessed American right to vote, and have voted, because I continue daily to be appalled and shocked at what is and for that matter, what also is not g

Comments
Opinion
Expenses in line?

Expenses in line?

May 2nd, 2014 10:00 am by TERESA G. DEAKINS

I noticed that Roger Nave recently said in the Johnson City Press that, in reference to his role as a Washington County commissioner, "We held the line on expenses."That's funny. In the March meeting Nave voted for commissioners to keep their taxpayer-fun

Comments
Opinion
Citizens' voice

Citizens' voice

May 2nd, 2014 9:30 am by MATTHEW MORRIS

What is needed now more than ever in our Washington County Commission is transparency. Washington County citizens deserve to know how their hard-earned tax dollars are being spent.

Comments
Opinion
Support Eldridge

Support Eldridge

May 2nd, 2014 9:06 am by MITCH MEREDITH

For the past four years, I have had the opportunity to serve the citizens of Washington County as a commissioner. During that time, I have had the pleasure of serving on the Budget Committee and working with Mayor Dan Eldridge.

Comments
Opinion Downtown JC
Maybe a traffic change is in order

Maybe a traffic change is in order

May 2nd, 2014 9:04 am by Johnson City Press

Things are popping in downtown Johnson City. A number of restaurants are drawing customers both day and night to the district. Founders Park is nearing completion, and work on storm water mitigation and street improvements is progressing nicely.

Comments
Opinion
Vote for Ford

Vote for Ford

May 1st, 2014 9:45 am by LINDA WISE

I am amused at the ads the current sheriff is running in which he is basically confirming what Craig Ford is saying in his ads.

Comments