Johnson City Press Friday, July 25, 2014
Opinion
ETSU football

ETSU football

May 7th, 2014 10:00 am by HANK NYSTROM

I recall when East Tennessee State University had football the last time and I could count on the Saturday and Sunday Press to carry accounts of the week's fights and drunkenness of the football players.

Comments
Opinion
Capital punishment

Capital punishment

May 7th, 2014 9:45 am by EMMA MARIE BERG

I will believe in capital punishment when I can conceive of Jesus pulling the switch.

Comments
Opinion
Show no sympathy

Show no sympathy

May 7th, 2014 9:30 am by GARY WHITSON

Tennessee should not end the death penalty. The inmates on Death Row had no sympathy for their victims.

Comments
Opinion
JCPB donation

JCPB donation

May 7th, 2014 9:00 am by PETER PADUCH

Several customers of the Johnson City Power Board hired attorney Jerome Cochran to inquire into a $500,000 donation from the Johnson City Power Board to East Tennessee State University for the construction of a performing arts center. We believe this does

Comments
Opinion
Environmentalists oppose comforts; global populations will decline

Environmentalists oppose comforts; global populations will decline

May 7th, 2014 8:46 am by RON McCARLEY

Environmental organizations and climate alarmists are constantly saying we need to protect the environment and fight global warming for our children's and grandchildren's sakes, but their actions paint a disturbing picture of disregard for human life.

Comments
Opinion
Trademark blunder has been costly for school, city

Trademark blunder has been costly for school, city

May 7th, 2014 8:44 am by Johnson City Press

Using an organization's trademarked logo without its permission is not only unwise, it can also be expensive. That's the hard lesson that Johnson City school officials have learned.

Comments
Opinion
Get to the polls and vote today

Get to the polls and vote today

May 6th, 2014 8:49 am by Johnson City Press

Today is Election Day, which means voters finally have their say in Republican primaries for a number of county offices. Polls open in Washington County at 8 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.

Comments
Opinion
No background

No background

May 5th, 2014 12:00 pm by TONI KAY THOMPSON

I voted for President Obama in 2008 and again in 2012. What a farce. This man has neither any knowledge of foreign affairs, nor any knowledge about national affairs.

Comments
Opinion
Weapons and power

Weapons and power

May 5th, 2014 11:00 am by CHARLES TRIFILETTI

The nation of Ukraine and the state of Nevada have nothing in common, other than being featured subjects in the news this week.

Comments
Opinion
Should counties be forced to pay more for autopsies?

Should counties be forced to pay more for autopsies?

May 5th, 2014 10:33 am by Johnson City Press

County officials in Northeast Tennessee have been handed yet another budget headache courtesy of the state and federal governments.

Comments