Johnson City Press Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Opinion
Lower our rates

Lower our rates

May 30th, 2014 8:55 am by PEGGY ADAMS

My feeling is that if Johnson City Power Board has extra dollars to "donate" to anything, then their customers are paying way too much for power.

Comments
Opinion
Government should review railroad industry regulations

Government should review railroad industry regulations

May 30th, 2014 8:52 am by Johnson City Press

The off-again, on-again railroad overpass project in Erwin is on again. As Press Erwin Bureau Chief Brad Hicks reported recently, the steel needed to construct a portion of the bridge that will go over the railroad tracks crossing Second Street has finall

Comments
Opinion
Go green: Ride bus, lighten load in trunk

Go green: Ride bus, lighten load in trunk

May 29th, 2014 8:43 am by Johnson City Press

The United States is a culture built on self reliance and personal responsibility. In terms of transportation, that means you are on your own.

Comments
Opinion
Re-elect Mabe

Re-elect Mabe

May 27th, 2014 10:30 am by THOMAS J. GREGORY

I urge all county voters to re-elect Clarence Mabe to the Washington County Board of Education.

Comments
Opinion
State should secede

State should secede

May 27th, 2014 10:00 am by RODGER BUTLER

A recent letter writer who opposed Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey's attempt to stop liberal justices has evidently failed to understand the golden rule: He who has the gold makes the rules.

Comments
Opinion
Is spending $5K to send leaders to Japan a good investment?

Is spending $5K to send leaders to Japan a good investment?

May 27th, 2014 9:30 am by Johnson City Press

A delegation from Washington County will soon be racking up some impressive frequent flyer miles in the name of economic development

Comments
Opinion
Saving our planet

Saving our planet

May 27th, 2014 9:30 am by MARION GROVER

It is sad that a lady who has worked hard to preserve and protect our environment would be compared to Hitler, Lenin, Stalin and Mao in the Johnson City Press.

Comments
Opinion
Bartow struggles with recruiting

Bartow struggles with recruiting

May 27th, 2014 8:58 am by PETER T. FRANCZEK

I am writing concerning the slow process Coach Murry Bartow seems to be having in signing his last two recruits to East Tennessee State University's basketball team.

Comments
Opinion
Public should be notified of government get-togethers

Public should be notified of government get-togethers

May 27th, 2014 8:57 am by Johnson City Press

Kingsport Mayor Dennis Phillips said last week he has rescinded an offer to the Johnson City Commission to break bread privately with his Board of Aldermen at the MeadowView Conference, Resort & Convention Center.

Comments
Opinion
Remember to buckle up, move over on highway

Remember to buckle up, move over on highway

May 27th, 2014 8:43 am by Johnson City Press

A number of Americans will be traveling during this long Memorial Day Weekend.

Comments