Johnson City Press Friday, April 18, 2014
Opinion
Bristol races are special and so are the fans

Bristol races are special and so are the fans

March 17th, 2014 10:04 am by Johnson City Press

We're glad you're here for the NASCAR races and we want to say "thank you" for spending your hard-earned wages in our local businesses.

Comments
Opinion
Socialism is theft

Socialism is theft

March 14th, 2014 8:42 am by ROGER M. CLITES

When I was in the second grade, I first encountered a "do-gooder's" motivation by what amounted to socialism

Comments
Opinion
Prager is lost about human instinct, religion, history and secularism

Prager is lost about human instinct, religion, history and secularism

March 14th, 2014 8:41 am by DR. DAVID FAGELSON

Once again I have to take exception to the right-wing nonsense of Dennis Prager. He states that it is only religion that enforces our moral code of action.

Comments
Opinion
County needs money for services, not perks

County needs money for services, not perks

March 14th, 2014 8:39 am by Johnson City Press

It's time to end the taxpayer-subsidized health insurance coverage for Washington County commissioners. As Press staff writer Gary B. Gray reported in Thursday's paper, the cost of this perk is estimated to be $122,508 for this year alone.

Comments
Opinion
Johnson City should revisit wi-fi connectivity

Johnson City should revisit wi-fi connectivity

March 13th, 2014 10:25 am by Johnson City Press

As we've noted in this space before, the early part of this century sees our region suffering from a pronounced disparity of a vital utility - broadband Internet.

Comments
Opinion
Use of car horns

Use of car horns

March 12th, 2014 8:46 am by ROBERT H. KEITER

I liked your recent editorial about appropriate use of an automobile horn - it should be used as a warning only.

Comments
Opinion
Meth sentencing

Meth sentencing

March 12th, 2014 8:45 am by STEVE OSBORN

As the chairman of the Sevier County Tea Party, I read a lot of in-state newspapers. I ran across your article asking a good question, and thought I'd give my two cents.

Comments
Opinion
Penalties for meth

Penalties for meth

March 12th, 2014 8:44 am by HAROLD WHITAKER

I take pseudoephedrine for allergies and sinus problems per living in East Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
Comcast monopoly and lack of service

Comcast monopoly and lack of service

March 12th, 2014 8:43 am by ANTHONY W. NORTON

I am writing to see if something can be done about the county's choice of cable provider (i.e. Comcast) which essentially provides a monopoly on cable services for Washington County.

Comments
Opinion
Congratulations to state champion Lady Cyclones

Congratulations to state champion Lady Cyclones

March 12th, 2014 8:41 am by Johnson City Press

Congratulations go to the Lady Cyclones for winning the Class AA state basketball tournament Saturday night in Murfreesboro. With the 66-52 victory over Knox Fulton, Elizabethton High School secured the first-ever girls state basketball title for a team f

Comments