Johnson City Press Friday, August 29, 2014
Opinion
New additions on ETSU campus will cost students more and more

New additions on ETSU campus will cost students more and more

May 16th, 2014 8:45 am by JERRY L. NORRIS

East Tennessee State University's infamous parking garage is up and running. That is good, but you can expect a higher parking fee next year. Why? ETSU will receive $1,057,200 less from the state of Tennessee in 2015.

Comments
Opinion
Liquor tax issue needs to be settled inexpensively

Liquor tax issue needs to be settled inexpensively

May 16th, 2014 8:44 am by Johnson City Press

For the sake of all county taxpayers, we hope the dispute over alcohol taxes that Washington County School System officials allege they are owed by the city of Johnson City can be settled quickly and without litigation.

Comments
Opinion
Slow down in road construction zones

Slow down in road construction zones

May 15th, 2014 8:46 am by Johnson City Press

Officials with the Tennessee Department of Transportation are calling attention to the danger speeding or distracted drivers pose to highway construction workers.

Comments
Opinion
Carotid sonograms

Carotid sonograms

May 12th, 2014 9:30 am by BILL MARTIN

On April 17, my 55-year-old seemingly healthy wife suffered a major stroke due to a 100 percent clogged carotid artery.

Comments
Opinion
Should we allow 'dark money' to influence state elections?

Should we allow 'dark money' to influence state elections?

May 12th, 2014 9:11 am by Johnson City Press

A top Republican leader says he will have something to say about the Aug. 7 retention election of three Tennessee Supreme Court judges.

Comments
Opinion
Sunsetting of Windows XP leaves computers vulnerable

Sunsetting of Windows XP leaves computers vulnerable

May 12th, 2014 9:02 am by BOB PROBULIS

Over the past month you may or may not have heard that Microsoft has decided to sunset support for Windows XP. The date has come and gone and I have found that many of my friends have no idea how to react to it.

Comments
Opinion
State must find a way to fund road projects

State must find a way to fund road projects

May 12th, 2014 9:00 am by Johnson City Press

State government officials will soon have to make some tough decisions on how to fund vital transportation projects in Tennessee. It is a discussion the governor and members of the state General Assembly have put off for far too long.

Comments
Opinion
Consumers want local organic food on their tables

Consumers want local organic food on their tables

May 12th, 2014 8:42 am by Johnson City Press

More Americans are now asking for meat, vegetables and dairy foods that are produced locally and without growth hormones or preservatives. It is a trend that benefits both local farmers as well as the markets that sell their products.

Comments
Opinion
Addicted babies

Addicted babies

May 9th, 2014 10:00 am by FRED DEAKINS

I have helped in the care of addicted newborns and fetal alcohol syndrome babies.

Comments
Opinion
Treating the person

Treating the person

May 9th, 2014 9:30 am by JESSICA POFF

An estimated 36,570 people will hear the words "you have cancer" this year in Tennessee.

Comments