Johnson City Press Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Will you be voting in the county GOP Primary?

Featured Story

Opinion

Will you be voting in the county GOP Primary?

April 14th, 2014 2:37 pm by Johnson City Press

The early voting period for the May 6 Republican Primary for county offices begins Wednesday and runs through May 1. In Washington County, voters will be asked to decide contested primary battles for County Commission, county mayor, sheriff, county clerk,

Comments
Opinion
Annexation

Annexation premium content

April 15th, 2014 11:02 am by BOBBY D. JOBE

I read with interest your editorial on March 2 regarding the possible loss of revenue for the city of Johnson City when the annexation law proposed by state legislators is passed. Our state representatives - in their haste to gather votes for re-election

Comments
Opinion
Washington County residents can do more to improve health

Washington County residents can do more to improve health premium content

April 15th, 2014 11:00 am by JENNIFER M. SCHALLER-AYERS

While the recent Washington County health rankings in the top 20 of 95 Tennessee counties are to be commended, the county is lagging far behind other counties in the United States and other countries.

Comments
Opinion
Dan Eldridge deserves four more years as mayor

Dan Eldridge deserves four more years as mayor

April 14th, 2014 2:05 pm by Johnson City Press

The job of county mayor is one of the most difficult and misunderstood jobs at the courthouse. A county mayor is considered the chief executive officer of county government in Tennessee.

Comments
Opinion
Graybeal is competent, serves county well

Graybeal is competent, serves county well

April 14th, 2014 2:05 pm by Johnson City Press

To say Washington County Sheriff Ed Graybeal has had a long and distinguished career in law enforcement would be an understatement. During his more than 30 years in the profession, he has demonstrated dedication, compassion and a joyful tenacity in doing

Comments
Opinion
Do your part to maintain our beautiful region

Do your part to maintain our beautiful region

April 14th, 2014 10:09 am by Johnson City Press

This is the month we celebrate Earth Day (April 22). April is also a month packed with activities linked to the Great American Cleanup and National Arbor Day celebrations.

Comments
Opinion
Raises a priority

Raises a priority premium content

April 11th, 2014 11:30 am by McDANIEL SAMS

I am expressing my thoughts concerning pay raises for teachers and state employees. I fully understand Gov. Bill Haslam's predicament in dealing with the budget. This can be a daunting task.

Comments
Opinion
Vote Tom, Tom and Joe

Vote Tom, Tom and Joe premium content

April 11th, 2014 11:00 am by JOHN PAUL NEAS

I would like to encourage the voters in and around Jonesborough to look very carefully at the five candidates for County Commission on the ballot this year.

Comments
Opinion
Three-year vaccine

Three-year vaccine premium content

April 11th, 2014 10:30 am by CINDY HINTZ

The "As We See It" column April 4 discussed the reasons to vaccinate your pets against the deadly disease of rabies.

Comments
Opinion
Energy propaganda

Energy propaganda premium content

April 11th, 2014 10:00 am by DENNIS O'HARE

Much of the syndicated column material presented here is mostly harmless drivel and pablum peppered with some not-so-benign propaganda, fiction and disinformation.

Comments
Opinion
Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion

Haslam is hurting Tennessee by refusing Medicaid expansion premium content

April 11th, 2014 9:25 am by DEBORAH ROYALTY

Gov. Bill Haslam's refusal to expand Medicaid and his requests for a special arrangement for Tennessee under the Affordable Care Act is an indulgent political ploy that is undermining our state.

Comments