New, familiar faces primary winners for Unicoi Co. panel

Brad Hicks • May 6, 2014 at 10:58 PM

ERWIN — A combination of new and familiar faces will make up the Unicoi County Commission following this year’s election cycle.

Four members of the nine-member panel — Sue Jean Wilson, Dwight Bennett, James Howell and Mickey Hatcher — opted not to seek re-election.

Each of the county’s three districts is represented by three seats on the County Commission.

The top vote-getters in the county’s 1st District in Tuesday’s Republican primary were the incumbent commissioners, meaning the district’s representatives on the commission will remain unchanged. Current Unicoi County Commission Chairwoman Marie Shelton Rice received 821 votes, Loren Thomas received 515 votes and Gene Wilson tallied 536 votes.

Joey Bailey received 488 votes, and Stacy Wigand tallied 473 votes in the 1st District, according to unofficial totals.

The three 2nd District candidates who received the most votes were Glenn White with 668 votes, Jason Harris with 629 votes and incumbent Commissioner Kenneth Garland with 562 votes.

These three candidates will now vie for the 2nd District commission seats against Democratic candidates Robert Martin and Richard Smith in the August general election.

Those coming up short in the 2nd District race were incumbent Commissioner Bill Hensley, who received 508 votes, Brian Delp, who received 499 votes, and Donald “Stephen” Wilson, who received 316 votes.

All three seats representing the 3rd District will be filled by newcomers. The top three vote-getters were Walter Garland with 768 votes, John W. Mosley with 679 votes and Bridget Peters with 561 votes.

In the 3rd District race, Kenneth Calain tallied 332 votes and James McClellan received 517 votes.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos