Johnson City Press Saturday, July 4, 2015


39 apply for ETSU president job so far

October 14th, 2011 10:31 pm by Rex Barber

39 apply for ETSU president job so far

The whittling down of candidates who have applied to become the next president of East Tennessee State University will begin Monday.
Thirty-nine people have applied for the job as of 5 p.m. Friday evening. Eleven of those candidates have applied in the past 10 days.
The process to replace Dr. Paul E. Stanton Jr. as president began this past summer. Stanton, who is the eighth leader of the school, announced earlier this year he intends to retire in January.
The following candidate names are in the same order on a master list kept by the Tennessee Board of Regents and most recently updated Friday evening:
- William Anderson, principal (special assignment), Columbus City Schools
- Ronald Brown, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Wayne State University
- Zelphia Brown, online associate campus dean; online full-time faculty; regional academic dean; campus dean, Strayer University
- James Conneely, associate provost and vice president for student affairs, Eastern Kentucky University
- Todd Diacon, deputy chancellor, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
- Donald DiPette, vice president for medical affairs, University of South Carolina
- David Fluharty, technology/field integrator, LMU Inc.
- Robert Frank, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, Kent State University
- Steve Goodman, vice president for research and dean, College of Graduate Studies, State University of New York Upstate Medical University
- Laurie Hillstock, associate vice president for curriculum and instruction, Southern Wesleyan University
- Daniel G. Howard, interim chancellor, Arkansas State University-Jonesboro
- Harold Jones, dean of the School of Health Professions, University of Alabama at Birmingham
- Jack Kay, professor of communication and on special assignment to graduate school, Eastern Michigan University
- Michael Lane, professor of accounting, Emporia State University
- Richard Manahan, vice president for university advancement and CEO of the ETSU Foundation, ETSU
- Jack C. Maynard, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Indiana State University
- Douglas Miller, professor of medicine, Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Health Sciences University
- Frank Mink, vice president/director of corporate human health services, Cardno Health-Entrix
- James Moran, interim president Edinboro University
- Lois Muir, professor of psychology, University of Montana-Missoula
- John Noftsinger, associate vice president for academic affairs, James Madison University
- Jay Noren, professor in the School of Medicine and former president, Wayne State University
- Gary Olson, professor and former provost and vice president for academic affairs, Idaho State University
- Simon Priest, former senior vice president of academics, Virginia College
- Thomas Roberts, associate vice president for research, Florida Gulf Coast University
Ralph Rogers, provost, Purdue University-Calumet
- Ashok Roy, assistant vice president for finance/CFO, Kennesaw State University
- Cheryl Scheid, vice chancellor for academic, faculty and student affairs, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
- Michael Shonrock, special assistant to the president, Texas Tech University
- Steven Siconolfi, former dean, school of health sciences and human performance, Ithaca College
- Leonore Simon, criminal justice professor, ETSU
- Chuck Staben, provost and vice president for academic affairs, University of South Dakota
- Ole Theinhaus, professor and chairman of the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, University of Nevada School of Medicine
- Charles Vehse, dean, Lincoln College, West Virginia University
- Michael Wartell, chancellor, Indiana University-Purdue University
- Walter Wendler, director, School of Architecture, Southern Illinois University
- Albert Wiley, director, Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site and WHO Collaborating Center at Oak Ridge, Oak Ridge Associated Universities and Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education
- Kichoon Yang, executive director, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
- Henry Zimon, vice president, strategic plans and programs, L-3 Communications Corporation, MPRI Division.
The list of candidates has grown steadily since September. No cut-off date for applications has been set. Candidates can apply until the position is filled, according to the TBR, the governing body for ETSU.
On Monday, the candidates listed here and anyone else who submits a resume will be reviewed by a Presidential Search Advisory Committee comprised of university, community and TBR members. The committee will decide on which of those candidates to invite to the campus Wednesday and Thursday for interviews.
From those interviews, a pool of probably between three and five finalists will be asked to return for interviews scheduled for Oct. 24-28.
Monday’s committee meeting will begin at 10 a.m. in the East Tennessee Room of the D.P. Culp University Center.
All presidential search meetings are open to the public as observers.
Anyone can submit a name for a potential candidate to the search firm Greenwood/Asher and Associates, which is seeking candidates.

comments powered by Disqus