Johnson City Press Saturday, August 1, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »


ETSU top job search ongoing

October 6th, 2011 11:48 pm by Rex Barber

Despite being nominated, East Tennessee State University’s top health administrator has declined to become a candidate for the school’s presidency.
ETSU Vice President for Health Affairs and University CEO Wilsie Bishop was nominated in September.
“I was very pleased to have been asked but declined the request,” she said Thursday. “I’m really enjoying the work I’m doing as vice president of health affairs.”
There are now 29 applicants for the job of president of ETSU, a position currently held by Dr. Paul E. Stanton Jr. He plans to retire in January. A national search for his replacement has been underway since this summer.
An updated list of those who have applied to be the school’s ninth leader was provided Thursday by the Tennessee Board of Regents, the governing body for ETSU.
The Johnson City Press last reported in the middle of September there were 19 candidates for president. One of those people, Scott Scarborough, of the University of Toledo Medical Center, withdrew his application.
The following candidates remain in the running and are arranged alphabetically, as they appeared on the TBR list:
n William Anderson, principal (special assignment), Columbus City Schools
n Ronald Brown, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Wayne State University
n Zelphia Brown, online associate campus dean; online full-time faculty; regional academic dean; campus dean, Strayer University
n James Conneely, associate provost and vice president for student affairs, Eastern Kentucky University
n Donald DiPette, vice president for medical affairs, University of South Carolina
n David Fluharty, technology/field integrator, LMU Inc.
n Robert Frank, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, Kent State University
n Steve Goodman, vice president for research and dean, College of Graduate Studies, State University of New York Upstate Medical University
n Laurie Hillstock, associate vice president for curriculum and instruction, Southern Wesleyan University
n Michael Lane, professor of accounting, Emporia State University
n Richard Manahan, vice president for university advancement and CEO of the ETSU Foundation, ETSU
n Jack C. Maynard, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Indiana State University
n Douglas Miller, professor of medicine, Medical College of Georgia
n Frank Mink, vice president/director of corporate human health services, Cardno Health-Entrix
n Gary Olson, professor and former provost and vice president for academic affairs, Idaho State University
n Simon Priest, former senior vice president of academics, Virginia College
n Thomas Roberts, associate vice president for research, Florida Gulf Coast University
n Ashok Roy, assistant vice president for finance/CFO, Kennesaw State University
n Cheryl Scheid, vice chancellor for academic, faculty and student affairs, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
n Michael Shonrock, special assistant to the president, Texas Tech University
n Steven Siconolfi, former dean, school of health sciences and human performance, Ithaca College
n Jon Sprague, pharmacy dean, Ohio Northern University
n Chuck Staben, provost and vice president for academic affairs, University of South Dakota
n Ole Theinhaus, professor and chairman of the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, University of Nevada School of Medicine
n Charles Vehse, dean, Lincoln College, West Virginia University
n Michael Wartell, chancellor, Indiana University-Purdue University
n Walter Wendler, director, School of Agriculture, Southern Illinois University
n Albert Wiley, director, Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site and WHO Collaborating Center at Oak Ridge, Oak Ridge Associated Universities and Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education
n Kichoon Yang, executive director, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
A Presidential Search Advisory Committee comprised of university, community and TBR members will meet Oct. 17 to decide which of the candidates to invite to the campus for interviews on Oct. 19 and 20.
From those interviews, a pool of probably between three and five finalists will be asked to return for interviews scheduled for Oct. 24-28.
Acting on Search Advisory Committee input, TBR Chancellor John Morgan will then suggest a candidate to the full Board of Regents, which will either accept or reject that person.
In May, the Northeast Tennessee delegation of lawmakers to the Tennessee General Assembly encouraged Manahan to seek the presidency. He submitted his required paperwork in September, and so far is the only internal ETSU candidate to apply.
Bishop said because she is familiar with ETSU’s health mission within the TBR it seemed better for the school for her to remain in her position. That way, she said, the Search Advisory Committee may not feel as though a candidate with a health administration background was absolutely necessary.
“I think it gives them much more flexibility in their search,” Bishop said.
The Oct. 17 meeting will begin at 10 a.m. in the East Tennessee Room of the D.P. Culp University Center.
All presidential search meetings are open to the public as observers.
Anyone can submit a name for a potential candidate to the search firm Greenwood/Asher and Associates, which is seeking candidates.

comments powered by Disqus