Johnson City Press Wednesday, July 29, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
Sports ETSU Sports

ETSU's Rembert makes first-team All-Atlantic Sun

March 3rd, 2014 7:04 pm by Staff Report

ETSU's Rembert makes first-team All-Atlantic Sun

Rashawn Rembert was named to the first team and two other East Tennessee State player picked postseason awards from the Atlantic Sun Conference on Monday.

Rembert was joined by Jalen Riley, who was named the A-Sun newcomer of the year, and A.J. Merriweather who was on the all-freshman team. The awards were picked by the league’s coaches.

Mercer had the top individual awards with Langston Hall winning player of the year, Daniel Coursey getting defensive honors and Bob Hoffman named the coach of the year.

Rembert led the league in scoring in conference games with 18.3 points per game and 3-point percentage at 43.4. The junior guard made 96 3-pointers to rank 10th on the A-Sun’s all-time list. He averaged 3.4 treys against conference foes.

Riley, a junior college transfer, averaged 12.7 points in 19.8 minutes per game. He shot 86.2 percent from the foul line for second best in the league. The guard increased his production to 13.1 points per game in league play, coming off the bench in all but one game this season.

Merriweather led the Bucs in rebounding and steals per game, and ranked as one of the squad’s top scorers all season.

Hall guided the Bears to a 14-4 A-Sun record and a share of the regular season title. The senior point guard led the league in assists (5.5) and free throw percentage (86.5), and was sixth in scoring (14.9) and second in steals (1.5). He enters tonight’s league tournament with 603 career assists, the second most in the conference history.

Hall is Mercer’s fourth player to be named A-Sun player of the year and first since Kenny Brown in 1993.

Florida Gulf Coast’s Bernard Thompson and Brett Comer accompanied Hall on the first team, sharing the regular season title with Mercer. Thompson averaged 15.6 points per game in conference play including 1.8 steals against league foes. His 199 career steals are 16th-most in conference history. Comer increased his scoring by six points this season to 14.2 points per game — eighth-best in the conference — while dishing out 5.4 assists each contest; trailing only Hall in the A-Sun. The junior guard owns 588 career assists; fourth-most in league history. 

USC Upstate’s Torrey Craig became the eighth player in A-Sun history to land on the A-Sun All-Conference first team on three occasions with his selection this season. Craig owns 2,084 career points — fourth-most all-time in the conference — as he averaged a league-best 16.9 points per game. His 7.1 rebounds per game sits fourth-best and he tallied 32.6 minutes per game, second-most among A-Sun student-athletes.

Coursey, the defensive player of the year, blocked an A-Sun high 61 shots. The senior forward’s 194 career blocks are fourth best in the A-Sun record books. Coursey also pulled down 6.7 rebounds a game for fourth-best in the league.

North Florida’s Dallas Moore landed the A-Sun freshman of the year award, averaging 12.5 points and 2.6 assists per game, while shooting 78 percent from the free-throw line. Moore was one of two unanimous choices to the all-freshman team with Lipscomb’s J.C. Hampton, who led all freshmen in scoring at 14.7 points per game.

Hoffman was tabbed the league’s top coach for the second straight season. He is the A-Sun’s first coach since College of Charleston’s John Kresse in 1998 to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

Second team honors went to FGCU’s Chase Fieler, Jacksonville’s Jarvis Haywood and Keith McDougald, Upstate’s Ricardo Glenn and North Florida’s Travis Wallace. Lipscomb’s Josh Williams, Stetson’s Brian Pegg and Merriweather joined Moore and Hampton on the All-Freshman squad.

comments powered by Disqus