Johnson City Press Tuesday, July 28, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »

Sports High schools

Thomas grabs Three Rivers' player of the year honors

November 25th, 2013 10:42 am by Douglas Fritz

Thomas grabs Three Rivers' player of the year honors

Ethan Thomas

Ethan Thomas stood tall at the end of the Three Rivers Conference football season.
The Elizabethton running back, who finished the regular season with 1,454 yards rushing and 17 touchdowns despite missing two games with an injury, was chosen as player of the year, the league announced Monday morning.
Thomas helped the Cyclones go undefeated in league play under the direction of Shawn Witten, who was selected as the coach of the year.
Elizabethton also had Adam Mullins, who was picked as the defensive linemen of the year.
Sullivan South quarterback Dylan Wieger was the pick as the offensive player of the year while teammate Kyle Bond got the nod as the defensive player of the year.
Johnson County's David Eller was chosen as the offensive lineman of the year while Sullivan North's Jacob Japser was selected as athlete of the year.

All-Three Rivers All Conference team

Player of the Year — Ethan Thomas, Elizabethton
Offensive — Dylan Weiger, Sullivan South
Defensive — Kyle Bond, Sullivan South
Offensive Lineman — David Eller, Johnson County
Defensive Lineman — Adam Mullins, Elizabethton
Athlete — Jacob Jasper, Sullivan North
Coach — Shawn Witten

Elizabethton — Andrew Byers, Tyler Hubbard, Chris Cifers, Jacob Woodby, Markus Olds, Jon Webb, Caleb Bailey, Logan Birchfield, Matt Lingerfelt, Caleb Armstrong

Sullivan South — Jacob Stricker, Evan Headrick, Cody Shipley, Christian Comsa, Josh Booker, Blake Christian, Tommy Morris, Hunter Haren

Sullivan North — Bryson Salyers, Kody Goins, Nick Copas, Matt Duncan, Zach Duncan, Tyler Arnold

Johnson County — Patrick South, Kenny Brown, Tristian Hill, Jeff Brooks, Jordan Grubb

Happy Valley — Josh Hannonds, Tyler Marlowe , Phillip Garland, Eli Hyder, Austin Hicks

Unicoi County — Hunter Burnett, Eli Gillis, Luke Fronckoski, Lucas Hensley, Thomas Tipton

Sullivan East — Curt Lunceford, Sean Embree, Dillon McCroskey

Honorable mention
Elizabethton — Eric Carter, Michael Fowler, Austin Depew, Christian Glover, Cullen Cusack
Sullivan South — Austin Jones, Will Blair, Bradley Harris, Hogan Jones, Austin Beard
Sullivan North — Brett Peters, Austin Linton, Seth Maxwell, Mickey DeBriel, Jon Green
Happy Valley — Conner Cross, Ethan Barnett, Devon Peters, James Hartley, Dalton Showe
Johnson County — Greg Roark, Jake Greer, Robert Bower
Payton Fenner, Kevin Dempsey
Unicoi County — Trevor Berry, Bodhi Bradford, Cody Harris
Eric Arnett, Justin Nelson
Sullivan East — Nelson Elliot, Dalton Smith, Gunner Griffith, Aaron Frye, Cole Green

comments powered by Disqus