Johnson City Press Sunday, August 2, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
News Local News Education

TBR approves tuition and fee increases for ETSU, NSCC

June 21st, 2013 11:09 am by STAFF REPORT

TBR approves tuition and fee increases for ETSU, NSCC

The following is a news release from TBR:

MORRISTOWN — The Tennessee Board of Regents
today approved maintenance fee/tuition recommendations at its universities and
community colleges. Maintenance fee increases are lower this year than in the
past two years and will not affect the Tennessee Technology Centers.

It also took action on recommendations by a number of committees,
including Finance and Business Operations, Personnel and Compensation, Academic
Policies and Programs, and Tennessee Technology Centers.

The Board approved a recommendation made by its Committee on
Finance and Business Operations earlier this month to increase maintenance fees/tuition at the system’s 19 community
colleges and universities across the state. When combined with mandatory fees
(unique to each campus, including fees for athletics, student activities)
already approved, the proposed increases for students taking 15 credit hours
will amount to:

·  $102 per year for
community college students,

·  $72 per year at
Tennessee State University,

·  $240 at Austin Peay
State University,

·  $348 at Middle
Tennessee State University,

·  $383 at Tennessee
Technological University,

·  $432 at the University
of Memphis, and

·  $546 at East Tennessee
State University.

“While we regret any increase in cost to
students, we are grateful to be able to limit the extent of the increases this
year thanks to additional state funding,” said TBR Chancellor John Morgan. “Our
state leaders have recognized the critical role higher education plays in our state’s
economic development.”

A complete list of maintenance fee/tuition and mandatory fee
increases is available at

The increases in maintenance fees/tuition are needed to fund the
portion of the mandated 1.5 percent salary increase for all state employees that
was not funded through state appropriations and inflation cost increases in
utilities and insurance. Most institutions also requested additional increases
to fund efforts to support student success.

The Board also approved an incentive compensation plan that would
allow institution leaders to earn an annual payment tied to exemplary outcomes
in performance, primarily related to the outcomes outlined in the state’s
funding formula for public higher education. That formula identifies specific
outcomes related to student success, including graduation and retention rates. The
plan allows institution leaders to qualify each year for an incentive payment of
up to roughly 10 percent of their base salary. Base salaries for presidents and
directors were capped at 90 percent of the average market salary for comparable
positions in the southeast.

In other new business, the Board approved a slate of new programs,
including several in high-demand workforce fields in Tennessee. Among them are a
new master of arts degree in Appalachian Studies at East Tennessee State University,
and a bachelor of science degree in Mechatronics Engineering at Middle Tennessee
State University.

Newly approved associate of applied science programs include:

·  Mechatronics
Technology at Motlow State Community College,

·  Information
Systems Technology at Motlow State,

·  Medical
Informatics with a concentration in Healthcare IT Technician at Nashville State
Community College,

·  Advanced
Integrated Industrial Technology at Southwest Tennessee Community College,

·  Occupational
Therapy Assistant at Walters State Community College, and

·  a
collaborative Surgical Technology program through Walters State and Roane State
Community Colleges.

New programs implemented at the Tennessee Technology Centers include:

·  Health Information Technology program at Paris,

·  Health Information Technology program at Whiteville - Brownsville

·  Machine Tool Technology Program at Morristown- Greenville Center,

·  Industrial Electricity Program at Morristown- Greenville Center,

·  Industrial Maintenance Program with HVAC component program at

·  Industrial Technology Education Program for dual enrollment at

·  Patient Care Technician Program at Knoxville-Strawberry Plains,

·  Industrial Maintenance Program at Knoxville-Strawberry Plains,

·  Automotive Program for dual enrollment at Hartsville-Tri-County
Vocational Center,

·  Graphic Design and Web Development Technology at Murfreesboro, and

·  Health Science Program at Pulaski- Spot Lowe Vocational Center at
Marshall County High School.

The Board also heard a report on the planned
name change for the state’s 27 Tennessee Technology Centers and satellite
campuses. A bill introduced in the legislature and signed by Governor Haslam
changes the name of the centers to Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology
effective July 1.

various new programs reflect strong partnerships between our colleges and
universities and the workforce needs of their surrounding communities,” Morgan

The Board also re-elected Governor Bill Haslam as its chairman and
selected Regent Emily Reynolds to serve as vice chairman. Reynolds has a long career of public service and
was appointed to the TBR in 2010 to represent the at-large seat for Middle

The Tennessee Board of Regents is among the nation’s largest
higher education systems, governing 46 post-secondary educational
institutions.  The TBR system includes
six universities, 13 two-year colleges and 27 technology centers, providing
programs to more than 200,000 students across the state.

comments powered by Disqus