Johnson City Press Sunday, August 2, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »
Regional & National

Jury selection begins today for Y-12 protesters

May 6th, 2013 1:40 pm by Frank Munger

Jury selection begins today for Y-12 protesters

Sister Megan Rice, Michael Walli and Greg Boertje-Obed have told their story many times over the past nine months, in forums large and small. They’ve shared details of their July 28, 2012 intrusion at the Y-12 nuclear weapons plant at potluck dinners with friends and supporters, before church and school audiences, in countless interviews with the news media.

This week, the actions of the three protesters — who call themselves the Transform Now Plowshares — will be scrutinized in a court of law.

Jury selection is scheduled to take place Monday afternoon in U.S. District Court, with the trial beginning Tuesday before Judge Amul Thapar.

comments powered by Disqus